IN THE SOUP

With Halloween around the corner and an interest in the pumpkin soup I made the other night, abounding -well, anyway, creating some interest – I thought I would write up the recipe and method for your delectation.

PUMPKIN STILTON AND APRICOT SOUP

2 Tablespoons olive oil
900g (2lbs) Diced pumpkin
1 Onion, chopped
225g (8oz) potatoes
225g (8oz) Sliced carrot
1Tsp ground coriander
1Tsp Cumin Seeds
1.1ltr (2pts) Vegetable stock
225g (8oz) White stilton with apricots

METHOD:

1. Fry the vegetables and spices for 5 minutes
2. Add the vegetable stock,
3. Simmer in a covered pan for about 30 minutes or till all vegetables are tender
4. Blend the soup
5. Return the pan to the heat break up cheese and let it melt into the soup.
6. Serve…

I did not quite stick to the quantities, I reckoned that the recipe wasn’t going to argue with me for an extra 100gr of pumpkin which I had, and extra 25g of potato (which probably balanced off the quantities). The cheese was about 80gr less but that seemed okay too. White Stilton not being a very oily cheese (otherwise I might not have used cheese at all) was very acceptable to my palate and the apricots just gave the added touch of magic .

The fruit in the cheese seemed quite moist. A nice Caerphilly and some semi dried apricots might be an alternative if you can’t get the Stilton with Apricots.

ENJOY!

One thought on “IN THE SOUP

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

