WORDS

There are many spam filters available. Hubby boots up a filter he bought, then he clicks on it and hey presto! Mail appears. The filter has been trained to alert the user to known spam, (from a central register presumably) and it seems to be a fast learner for new stuff. I have a filter that is integrated into my email client, It works similarly,and like hubby’s it appears to be very efficient; it certainly does the job.

Recently though, some of my mail to hubby  with attachments (what! I hear you say, you email him? Yes I do)has ended up, so hubby thought, lost in cyberspace only to be found in his spam filter. Now what could I have done that may have caused it? I don’t know.

Words seem to have been the culprits for mail ‘out’ and mail ‘in’ being diverted to the spam folder. ‘Hi’, from me and ‘Classes’ to me, both ended up filtered. In both instances, the recipients – that includes
me – checked spam folders and found the respective genuine mails.

Yes, you can see from my experience, if you have a spam filter (it is recommended) you do need a spam folder, otherwise things will drift into cyberspace never to see the light of day, when they should have.

The spammers (they’re as bad as virus creators) have a lot to answer for. Perfectly good ordinary words have been hijacked by them. As for the email and attachments I sent to hubby, we’re still not sure why they ended up  in the spam, unless that also has something to do with words.

I can think of a whole host of words I could use in the direction of the spammers, but they would all end up being heavily filtered.

0 thoughts on “WORDS

  1. That may well be a similar process, picking up words that have been used for spam mail headings like ‘Hi’

    You can also teach your filters to reject things like persistent mail from sites you have long since left. Call it spam because of it’s source and will divert it away from the inbox.

    Conversely you can tell a spam filter that something isn’t spam and return it to your inbox.

    You can also train your filter to reject certain words or headings because of experience of nuisance factor. This will also cause mail to be mis-directed.

    My brother once called me to check if sprog had emailed him. He has set his spam filters to very tight levels. Once confirmed it was a genuine email, he let it through.

    All of this is a minefield, fuelled by selfish B***t**ds!

  2. Yes, that shows you just how important it is to have an effective spam filter. Many of the unsafe mails carry trojans, no mail marked unsafe should be opened unless you absolutely know what you are doing and you have an up-to-date A/V programme installed

    I am glad I don’t have too many such mails, though Gmail which I also use, is awful. The more you set filters, the worse the spam avalanche gets. I have stopped setting parameters, the numbers have reduced a bit. I also don’t go and clear the spam box out anymore, I leave Gmail to it’s own automatic devices.

    Bearing in mind the previous paragraph, I am glad that there is filtering on Gmail and that it seems to work. I am pee’d off with the quantities. That suggests Google doesn’t set their limits too tightly.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

