TOO MUCH TO DO

It’s always the same isn’t it. You breathe out and believe you have the time to breathe in. I had a blesséd two weeks to amble and wind down. Then everything descends all at once; all hell is let loose. Why oh why did I dawdle along, I could have used that breathing space to spread out a tiny bit of the load? Truthfully, most, nearly all of the avalanche has been unexpected. How can you plan for that!

I am so fed up sitting at the computer. I have to just now, to get things done. I am fed up fitting things in around other people’s time limits and fitting in time to make a meal, fitting in time to keep pre-ordained personal appointments, fitting in time to do some, not all, of my daily living routines.

It’s at times like this, I want to escape, take a break completely away from it all. If I did though, I would have additional time pressures because the things I usually do would have to be compressed into a tight time scale as well. There’d also be a pile of stuff to deal with when I returned. Doh!

0 thoughts on “TOO MUCH TO DO

  1. Sigh – been there, done (and do, and will do) that.

    Being self-employed it tends to be feast or famine nayway, but personal commitments allways seem to pile on to the bi=usy work times I find.

    My only consolation is that I am not overloaded all the time, and when I’m not can find a little time to myself. Perhaps without the contrast I wouldn’t enjoy “me” time as a precious commodity? Life in grey rather than black and white?

    But it’s still tedious and/or stressful in the black bits.

    One thing I have learnt – as long as the kitchen work-surfaces are clean and I do some washing/ washing-up, all the rest of the housework can go hang. That realisation saved me a lot of time.

  2. It won’t work – the head in sand technique never does. The alternative hours add to the pressure and don’t fit in with the daytime hours, when some things can be cleared off the decks by other people who fit in to the scenario.

  3. Now that, P, is a comforting and peaceful thought. Let’s hope. Two pressure points are currently off the boil, one more is going to be, I hope, but…

  4. I like your last para. Lois. The ironing has piled up, the food is appearing, not necessarily the most appetising, but edible and the rest of the housework has gone hang.

    The two items I got rid of today, I dawdled over, thinking I had time, the one I have started has been tinkered with in the same way, meantime, an avalanche has occurred, where lists seem to be added to and are not really disappearing, however many scores are gleefully scribbled onto a chore. They are not much use as a satisfying tool at the moment, they are just daunting aide memoires.

    I’m now off to clean the kitchen surfaces. 🙂

  5. I sympathise Menhir – the worst part is that each apparent solution leads to another problem.
    Interestingly, as someone mentioned sleep above, I read this article about polyphasic sleep you can develop that involves a chunk of 3-4 hours sleep, and then 20 minutes every 4 hours, thereby gaining hours more time to make use of – sometimes I’m tempted to try this extreme option!

  6. I don’t think my system could cope with Szymanski’s polyphasic sleep except in total desperation. It’s either for the young and energetic, new mums, the synergetic politico or the well adapted insomniac. It’s an interesting bit of research.

    What it doesn’t allow for is that you might be raring to get on with things when the other links you have to connect to, e.g. offices, individuals etc. are not able to proceed within your work patterns. You could be all done in, sleeping or somesuch, at the time when any completed stuff needs to be progressed.

    Very much again on the individual front; I have worked into the wee hours and more, found that I did what I did almost zombie fashion and spent as long again re-doing things, not just refining work, after a rest, which would have been a lot better. I always go back and refine things in particular instances.

    Polyphasic sleep is a ‘device’ that can work for some people, others at certain times in their lives, or not at all.

  7. I think I might fit into “well adapted insomniac”!
    I suppose it would work for people who actors or writers etc. but if you have any type of regular routine or 9 to 5 it’s not going to work. There are a couple of interesting blogs about people who have tried it out though.

  8. I heard a radio presenter talk about snaps of sleep. She’s at work from 5am. When she finishes at, say, 10am, she goes off to her dance class, then home for four hours sleep from noon. She’s up at tea time, might see the kids then I suppose, (I wonder what other assistance she has with home and family life?) then is in bed from about 8pm-9pm.

    The pattern of that person’s existence sounds much like polyphasic sleep however, there are a lot of issues surround the particular example I have given, that would not fit in with daily living patterns for the majority of families. It is a very focussed way of existing and a selfish one.

    It has to suit.

  9. Does it? It doesn’t appeal to me. Whether snaps of sleep around 24 hour routines sounds good or not, is obviously a subjective thing. It wouldn’t suit everyone.

    The idea is close to the polyphasic sleep process that Wonky cat has been discussing with me.

  10. Eurgh, sleeping for more than a couple of hours in the afternoon is such a depressing thought. All sounds very disorientating. Honestly don’t understand how that would work when you have kids.

  11. Nor I. Thus my musings on what other domestic help might be required. Failing that, a very focussed and single person lifestyle may survive the arrangement.

  12. That, RDW, is one of the very best ideas :)) Where do you suggest we dive off to? xxx

    Truly though, you’ve hit the nail on the head and I think we will be doing just what you suggest for a few days.

    The worst of the avalanche has been dealt with and I have had a good night’s sleep. I’m nearly over the summit!

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

