HEAD SHRINKER

I just wonder, sometimes, how cold it might feel indoors if we hadn’t done as much insulating as we have. While I believe for health’s sake you can over-insulate, for maintaining warmth, there does not appear to be an alternative.

My heaven it rained this morning! You’d have thought we were getting a turbo wash.

The rain had subsided when I went out late afternoon. I was all wrapped up in a well padded coat, It was very windy and the wind was horribly cold. My head shrivelled under my hat. I am just so glad I was wearing one.

It was cold enough though, to make it necessary to stop off for a warm drink in a local café where, I also munched a generous piece of their home made banana cake, I hasten to add, the cake eating is not something I make a habit of. Perhaps I shouldn’t have been, but I was surprised at how much I warmed up and I stayed warm.

0 thoughts on “HEAD SHRINKER

  1. It is possible, technically speaking, to over-insulate your property and cause damage to the building fabric. I have seen some horrible examples in the past.

    But I know what you mean, generally, the more the merrier (and cheaper). 🙂

  2. What sort of fabric damage can over-insulating cause?
    Also, what would be defined as over-insulating?

    I’ve yet to work out exactly what effects there are on humans of too much domestic insulation. There are so many variables with that issue, it would be quite difficult to formulate a generalised theory and prove it, I should think.

    I honestly believe that a little outside air leaking in, is healthier than say, a dry atmosphere, condensation leading to areas of dampness and so on. That’s not to say these features would not have occurred in older properties, I am very aware they do, having lived in one.

  3. Interstitial condensation is the most damaging and hardest to rectify, for an example I have seen 200 year old beautiful Cotswold stonework ruined because of dry lining incorporating too much insulation.

    Inappropriate cavity wall insulation can lead to dreafful and hard to rectify damp penetration, cavity wall tie failure and so on.

    The most common error (which is easier to rectify) is where people increase the loft insulation without ventilating the roof space. Severe damage can be caused to roof timbers.

    Whilst not strictly insulation, modern double glazing especially weathersealed PVCu windows can restrict natural ventilation to such an extent as to cause rampant condensation and affect gas appliances.

    Just a brief flavour of some of the fun and games I have seen over the years.

    All very tricky stuff.

  4. Thank you. I shall copy this and put your experience up for discussion. A couple of things you mention, I certainly want to check out. I think we are okay, but it does no harm to re-visit earlier work.

    🙂

  5. I think an issue is climate control, really. It is a trade-off between what one considers to be comfortable temperature inside and structural soundness and air quality. Structures settle over time, they expand and contract due to the seasonal temperature changes. Too much of a change is damaging to any structure. While natural air circulation is desirable, it should be weighed against the heating costs. As the ‘foxwriter’ pointed out, moisture condensation can lead to rot and mildew – big problems. So, it is really trying to walk a fine line between allowing the house to breath and having it insulated enough to keep the inside comfortable. I’ve found that there is no exact science to it – whether you talk to the architects or contractors. Spend more time outside and good luck!

  6. Thank you for calling in.

    Your thoughts mirror my own in many respects. If I lived in a more equable climate I would be more inclined to lots of fresh air ‘holes’, rather than the few.

    We have changed our heating arrangements and without a doubt have saved money with the efficiency of the modern technology. For me the jury is still out on the quantity of insulation that we have invested in. As you say, there can be a trade off with quality of a different kind.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

