SAVING A FRIENDSHIP

I posted the two letters that I had been clutching, in the gaping mouth of the post box at the front of the post office. A deep intake of breath, horror, panic! What had I done… I looked into the wide black space hoping it might regurgitate what I had just fed in. One of my letters had no stamp on it, it had an airmail sticker affixed, but no postage stamp.

I went into the office, rang the bell for attention and meekly told the post woman about the stupid thing I had just done, posting a letter without a stamp. Was there any chance of retrieving it, “Please”?

“What name is on it?” She whispered. (Poor soul had laryngitis I think). I gave her the name.

I got the envelope back… what a relief. Can you imagine the recipient having to pay all the postage and the penalty extras that would have been loaded on! It was not a happy prospect. I felt silly, but I was just so grateful. The post woman probably saved a friendship.

0 thoughts on “SAVING A FRIENDSHIP

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

