BIRDS OF A FEATHER

Birds of a feather, or not quite in this case, were doing two distinctly different things today.

One, a female blackbird was sheltering in the base of a stairwell not in the least bit perturbed by human footfall. I wished I had been carrying something I could have fed her with. At this time of year and in the very wintry conditions we are experiencing, birds lose so much of their body weight. I shall be back there tomorrow and I will put something in my pocket for birdie.

P1110231Wb

The river water was low. The seagull was paddling, (you can see its full front body) every now and then it was bending its head to peck whatever food sources it could find below the surface of the icy water.

P1110237Wb

0 thoughts on “BIRDS OF A FEATHER

  1. With regard to food, we humans have it easy in the UK. We put food out every day in winter for the birds and are rewarded with quite a variety of birds coming to feed, including rather scarcer ones like woodpeckers, jays and nuthatches. In fact, if the seeds are finished, there is nearly always a robin will come and dance around by the sitting-room window fair begging for food.

    Sometimes, having filled the feeder, I have been rewarded with robins coming immediately to feed from it when I am as close to the feeder as I am to this screen here now. They are very trusting. But the snow has just about gone now, so perhaps they will start fending for themselves a bit more. They are always a source of joy and interest through the cold months though.

  2. We stopped putting bird feeders out because of the concern about bird borne diseases. We back on to a farm and we have to take account of that. None of our immediate neighbours put out bird feeders either. However, we do throw out bread, crumbs or whatever we might have from time-to-time. This way we don’t attract regular bird feeding patterns close by the animals and their young.

    The farmer has the right to shoot marauding animals that may disturb his stock and also some things that fly. He uses his licence to shoot carefully, however, the same thing could not always be said for farm lads. We do keep a watch there’s no shooting of song birds, and they know it.

  3. Its interesting reading these bird blogs I love observing our garden birds they give so much pleasure just watching them feed most of them just love peanuts and the wild food not so much which is odd my favourite is the robin

  4. Thanks for calling in.

    I bought some fat balls in nets today. I’ll visit birdie again and see if I can discreetly leave a fat ball for it in the corner of the stairwell. Other creatures may smell it and muscle in on birdie’s sanctuary, so I need to be a little careful.

  5. Oh I know the birds adore the fat balls dont they which reminds me I need to stock up on them today seeems to be a quiet day not much bird activity yesterday 2 robins were feeding and a few blackbirds they sometimes perch on the garden table as if to say well come on then and I can actually sit in the garden in the summer and they stay quite close when feeding not at all afraid so they know who their friends are…interesting that chrisistoofat says the robins get very close to his windows clever little things

  6. I have a friend whose bird table is close to one of her windows, so no problem there viewing the bird’s antics, likewise, ma-in-law has a bird table close to her window. The main difficulty used to be friend’s cat. He was therefore, fitted with a collar with sound alert (a bell) which warned the birds to take a care. I don’t think cat bothers with bird table now, he predates elsewhere.

    I tied up a couple of fat balls to our garden fence today. The birds will have a hard time finding food at the moment. We still have plenty of snow. I left a ball for the blackbird but she seems to have departed her weather sanctuary. The leaves down there were horribly mushy.

  7. We have a black cat who pops into the garden every day but luckliy he hasnt managed to catch any birds the main worry is always in the spring when the fledglings (oops not sure of that spelling) are about then you have to keep an eye on them

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

