TOO MUCH SYNERGY TODAY.

I made a momentous decision today. I would try again my old green and red day eating habits on which I reduced weight and stayed happily in a comfortable place. After three years, I hadn’t discovered why it worked and being me, I needed to understand what I was doing. Of course, I wanted to dabble with some other grub without concerning myself whether I had gone over my ‘sinful’ intakes. That was the other issue, I detested the ‘sin’ word.

Don’t think for one minute I left healthy eating; I did not, I just did more of it. Action was required. I went along to the local fat club which was a very sociable and supportive place to be once a week, with a very entertaining leader. (With the red and green arrangements, I had been on my own).

As one does, I deviated from the path of righteous eating; it is expected, that’s why you always get invitations to rejoin, after goal weight is achieved. This is why then, I have decided to return to previous happy eating grounds.

Oh dear, there have been major changes which I have to learn. The core idea is the same, but some food guru decided that there had to be more intake of carbohydrates and calcium products on both types of eating days, I believe.

If you accede to temptation, in my case a fruit scone today, you have a high count of ‘Syns’ on the tab. Note subtle change, ‘i’ has become ‘y’, even so, it sounds the same as ‘sins’. Not so you would notice, apparently, ‘syns’ aren’t ‘sins’ after all, are they?

I just had a high level, (more than I should have) of synergy today, that’s all????????

0 thoughts on “TOO MUCH SYNERGY TODAY.

  1. Lol … Syners unite!

    FYI – I’ve never tried dieting.

    Under weight’s more my problem.

    You asked me to spill. Okay! I will!

    It’s really quite simple! Forget to eat!!

    T’is a foolproof and most economical method.

    Adam … x 🙂

  2. I have been in WW 3 times and each time over a spave of 3 years they did a ‘new’ diet. gave up in the end. And I never did get the notion that fruit was a sin ((or syn) on any day of the week. Given up on diets like that now and have as much sucess when I try by cutting abck and being busy.

  3. You mean you have a natural ‘no eat’ switch off in your brain system. I can understand why it’s economical. Think of all those luscious latkes, cheesecakes and honey cakes you are ignoring.

    Mine’s more the reverse. I have to work at ignoring my cerebral food transponder.

    😦

  4. You couldn’t say a truer word.

    I believe that what has happened to Slimming World Red (now called ‘original’) and green days – as they sound, meat day and non meat or vegetarian day – a dietician has looked at the old system I used umpteen years ago, and pointed out that more calcium and carbohydrates were called for on both days. On green days now, you can (optional) have small measured amounts of meat proteins as well, whereas that was not part of the plan in the past. All of that is different to less of everything!

    Then, I am advised there is a mix and match SW daily system which looks and sounds just like WW or SS plans, without the language (clean I rush to add!) I hear that many people who are used to the Red and Green system shun this mix and match one. It is a confusion of approaches. I could say more on that point, but I won’t, for now.

    I think I will enjoy getting into SW again, my way. The book I have from 2005 is badly laid out which is probably why I never used it. I am told that the current one has reverted to a similar lay out of my first book. My first, very old one, really does look dated and limited by comparison to the 2005 contents.

  5. Still not so sure what green and red days are, though I feel in my bones that much of what I eat has a red tag attached – in quantity, if not content ! Never felt a pull to communal weight-loss arrangements but I can imagine how those can help some. Eat less, exercise more is my simple plan (as you are aware).

    If only I could practise rather better than I preach !

    ChrisITF

  6. If you wish Chris, I could give you a more details, though a potted synopsis, of red and green days. Eat more but a bit differently is the mantra of this eating arrangement.

    the communal weight loss weekly was worth going to for the quality of the entertainment. The leader was really good. It was like attending a light hearted weekly theatrical!!!! She’s gone and I have no inclination to relaunch myself into the present management of it. My inclination is to just not concern myself too much with what I eat and fit comfortably into my clothes.

    I never did dislike this way of food operating; I just wanted to feel I had more personal understanding of what was happening – self-empowerment and all that.

    Scottish Slimmers is a nice way of eating too, that was where I used to obtain my regular entertainment while I was reaching goal weight. (Not for long really). I can still call in to a class for a weigh-in free of charge, if I choose to, providing I have not exceeded my ‘danger weight’. If not, there is the danger of re-joining fees and paying.

    Below is a refinement of one of the replies I made to a comment on this post. It should clarify Red and green days a little.

    I believe that what has happened to Slimming World (SW) Red (now called ‘original’) and green days – as they sound, meat day and non meat or vegetarian day – a dietician has looked at the old system I used umpteen years ago, and pointed out that more calcium and carbohydrates were called for on both days. On green days now, you can have small measured amounts of meat proteins (optional) as well, whereas that was not part of the plan in the past. All of these instructions are different to less of everything as found with other diets! (The ‘D’ word).

    Then, I am advised there is a mix and match SW daily system which looks and sounds just like Weight Watchers (WW) or Scottish Slimmers (SS) plans, without the language. (Clean I rush to add!) I hear that many people who are used to the Red and Green system shun this mix and match one. It is a confusion of approaches.

    I think I will enjoy getting into SW again, but my way. The book I have from 2005 is badly laid out which is probably why I never used it. I am told that the current one has reverted to a similar lay out of my first book. My first, very old one, really does look dated and limited by comparison to the 2005 contents.

    Exercise is encouraged though not to the exclusion of physical health issues, including pregnancy. That won’t affect you. Exercise has be relative and sensible.

    There you are Chris. Very general potted. If you want more info let me know.

  7. Gosh ! Thanks for taking all that trouble to explain. Seems straightforward enough now. Just got to stick to it, I suppose, and that, I expect, could be the most difficult part of the scheme.

    Looks like I got a Red Day today then, with roast pork for evening meal. Not forgetting the banquetous trifle, of course ! Only the three of us to tuck in as well, for number one son will not be with us. Crying shame, eh ?

    CITF

  8. Ah well, here’s the dampner; you have to be very, very moderate with such things as trifle, there’s daily allowances (syns) for fats and sweets, over and above the allowances for milk products. As I said, it was a very potted version of the eating plan I sent you and there is a bit more detail, it’s straightforward enough. Some forethought in the kitchen is required.

    You can’t stuff everything freely into one little body and expect a miracle, there are ways of stuffing stuff into a little body to obtain the miracle. 😉

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

