STAND UP AND BE COUNTED PLEASE?

It’s been festering just below my consciousness since I heard it about three days ago.

Reviewing the newspapers of the day, the radio reporter read that the Daily Mail headlines announced that the middle classes had lost faith and trust in the police. Pardon!

The middle classes get blamed for everything don’t they, even being the major sots of our society with their lust for wine, especially by the bottle.

Does this mean that everyone else still desires,loves and trusts those things that have fallen out of middle classes favour; or, that no-one else’s opinions in our society, count?

0 thoughts on “STAND UP AND BE COUNTED PLEASE?

  1. It is very wearing; it is a right wing paper that published that dubious statement, the deeper meaning therefore, that underlies it,is also worrying.

    You may know that the London police who ‘managed’ a demonstration against a major political meeting, very recently, have now allegedly been found to be seriously wanting. It’s akin to the beatings of the blacks by U.S police that were caught on video, except we hope that when the evidence is publicly – I hope all of it – the legal outcomes will be seen to do justice. A man trying to go home having finished his work selling newspapers, has died, there was an attempted cover up; and the use of excess force issues are now being investigated as well. Added to that, some police officers are seen on video without their I.D. shoulder tags, they have purposely removed them.

    A lot of stuff here in relation to that loaded headline, as you see.

  2. I read it somewhat differently. I believe it possible that the majority of the apparently respectable and law-abiding middle classes have nothing to do with police and saw them as protecting their interests. I think with broader mix of protester recently some who are new to protest have been quite shocked by police behaviour against themselves.

  3. Yes, I also interpreted this slant into the headline; I think though, in today’s society, it is more complex. Just protecting middle-class interests is too, too, simple as has been demonstrated by the different kinds and styles of demonstrators. It shows there is such a fusion of classes now days, in perception, in reality, in education and with money (or lack of it) at that level, that there has to be a definition or re-definition of what is middle class.

    The headline, I felt, was screwed as well as skewed out of its time.

    Policing had been placed squarely in the blue collar strata of employment, but it is an employment taken up in greater part, in today’s society, by people who do not just represent a mix of working class people from our society, there are many within the ranks these days who have benefitted from so-called middle-class privilege.

    It might be more correct to headline that the majority, the relative few that there are, of the ruling and upper classes – if you don’t count the financially fortunate banking classes – may have lost faith in the ability of the police, to police to suit them.

  4. You’re right about complexity.

    “there are many within the ranks these days who have benefitted from so-called middle-class privilege.” – Totally! At what point do they then become MC I wonder? Or do they? lol – Another topic I think!

  5. I am delighted you opened up the topic; I wondered if it would broaden out. And, indeed, yes, a whole other but related topic on “At what point do they then become MC” In academic terms………’Discuss’.

    This is the point at which I rush to the bookshelves to see what I have got that would enlighten me further; however, my material is rather outdated for this purpose and would provide a good foundation on which to build such a discussion, though it would not develop it further.

  6. P.S. I have just investigated your http:// curiosity got the better of me. You are a lovely writer.

    Well done on getting Eddie Mair to read out your comment.

  7. P.S. I have just investigated your other address as given in your comment; curiosity got the better of me. You are a lovely writer.

    Well done on getting Eddie Mair to read out your comment.

  8. Sorry about two notes ostensibly the same. I got a **$$””** message telling me I was out of order quoting tech speak, so I re-submitted, less tech speak. Let’s see if the heiroglyphics in this message get through! 🙂

  9. It is a bit unsettling to realize how much our view and expectations of society are shaped by the mass media. Police? After watching all those police shows on TV you expect a proactive, professional response to a call for help, but alas. A friend of mine just had a bicycle stolen – from her garage, no less. The police told her that it was random – despite the fact that it was not the first time and there were bicycle thefts in the neighborhood. When people take time to break through the window rather than enter through an unlocked door, it does not bring the word “random” to mind. I think if anybody’s opinion mattered the police would have worked to keep it favorable, rather than just going through the motions. Needless to say, my friend was totally disappointed.

    http://lichtenburger.blog.com

  10. ‘Random’ in the circumstances you describe, is the last description I would have given. It could be challengeable. The crime might have been close to opportunistic, it sounds like the crime was certainly burglary.

    As for expectations of the public order institutions; I am not sure what they are anymore. There is a confusion on both sides of the divide. I do not know if a revision with a good P.R. offensive would even clarify that question. What does seem clear is that there are high levels of mistrust towards those who are charged to protect our personal security. The question arises, whose interests are really being protected?

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

