IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS….

Went down for a walk in the woods today, and there was a big surprise…….most of it (the wood) had disappeared!

The doggy path was signed up, I thought I would leave their play areas to their walkers and them.

The ‘START’ sign, an up arrow in yellow and a number ‘one’ looked hopeful. The wind got up and the rain started. I pulled on my hood,and with head down, struck out intrepidly for the shelter of the woodland. I passed a hollowed tree trunk sculpt, then an attempt at a totem pole, or was it a wooden abstract?

I soon found myself following the signs and walking on and on in open scrub land. There obviously had been much tree-felling, some recent storm damage was evident with the remaining poor specimens of Scots pine. Whole root structures were up-ended. Viewing those in moonlight would be really eerie.

It was time to go off-piste, among what trees there were. “Do you know where you are going?” hubby asked. Of course I didn’t. I did know where I was. I could hear the sound of the sea which could guide me, if necessary. It wasn’t a problem, it was bright daylight and would be for many hours to come. In any case, with so few wooded areas, none of them thick, I was hardly at risk of disappearing from view.

I stumbled across a big seed eating wooden birdie on a pathway. It had been planted there a long time ago. It was soon followed up by a faded painted green tit. There were some nesting boxes attached to tree trunks but no holes in them. they were hardly there to attract woodpeckers, Maybe they were for next season’s nestings. On another trunk an older nesting box had one small hole at the front of it. Obviously made for small birds to squeeze in and out.

We entered a long avenue of trees, the ground carpeted in dried pine needles. We had inadvertently walked into the doggie trotting ground. We bravely faced our destiny.

In the distance there was a dog walker who was dressed in a bright jacket, in front bounded two Labrador gun dogs. Checking with their human first, they rushed up to me. They were a quiet, friendly pair. Their man was deaf, he explained to me. It didn’t deter a pleasant communication though.

We came out of the trees to meet the sea. A five minute walk took us back to the car park. It’s surprising what happens if you go down to the woods…

0 thoughts on “IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS….

  1. I remember walking in, and enjoying Boreham Wood many years ago. It was a treat, a half day out, not too far to travel from home. In spring it was carpeted in the most wonderful display of bluebells.

    Then it disappeared. Where Boreham Wood was, is a large conurbation with a locality that bears the name of the Wood. It is the only link with what was once there.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

