VISITS TO PRIVATE GARDENS TODAY

As dull and wet as it was today, I visited some private gardens that were opened for the Scottish Open Gardens scheme. Funds raised go to charities. There were set fees with concessions. If wanted, for a princely sum of £2, I could have afternoon teas with home baking, as much as I could eat, I was told.

The hall was busy with afternoon tea takers. A coach, which arrived when I queued to obtain my garden visits ticket and gardens location map, disgorged another thirty plus people to swell their ranks. The best strategy, I decided, was to head off to the gardens, before the hordes finished their refreshment.

The first stop was Granny’s Garden;

P1010089

Globules of rain water sat on plants and our feet squelched as we walked on the sodden ground.

P1010082

Just the thing, at the next garden stop, a rocking break.

P1010090

In another garden I spied an accidental rain water collector.

P1010094

What a delicate flower, one that was ready to multiply;

P1010105

Then…….ornamental rhubarb.P1010102

0 thoughts on “VISITS TO PRIVATE GARDENS TODAY

  1. Left over damp, it was very,very current. I had my weather proof hood up during the time of my outdoor visits. The rain really did not let up.

    The pix when uploaded here, do not show the detail, raindrops on flora and fauna etc.

  2. Wow, then these are even better pics. Yes, I sometimes have a hard time getting the extra elements to show through. But, those are great pics And thank you for sharing your rain soaked day. Maybe next time you can have a sun filled day. Hugs

  3. That is a beautiful place.
    I just realised we’ve been crossing paths along blogland for so long,you were one of the first people to comment on my blog…and we are not friends, no idea why.:)

    xx

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

