TITTERING TWITTERS AND FLUTTERING FACEBOOK

I am known to have the occasional flutter on Facebook and now a rare titter on Twitter.

Twitter has produced an array of notifications of followers. Oh dear…… they are not going to be very enthused by me.

I have to concur with one person I know, who rhetorically twitted, “What the hell am I supposed to be doing here; should I care?”

“How should I know what we are doing here: are we lemmings?”

In recent times, the value of social networking sites such as Twitter and Facebook have been inestimable in opening up avenues of information and light on societies different from our own. Perhaps, perversely, caring or not, and being lemmings in these fora, forms a great part in their social value.

0 thoughts on “TITTERING TWITTERS AND FLUTTERING FACEBOOK

  1. I get the same feeling as you about Twitter. I don’t quite follow its daily purpose, except that you are required to say something of significance, (or not) in as few digits and words as can be mustered.

    However, Twitter has given communications links out to the rest of the world where people may not have been able to communicate otherwise. Like all similar sites, Twitter will be open to manipulation but, it has recently been seen to have a function in a time of crisis.

  2. i’m afraid i also have little interest in either, i’ll stick to blogging thank-you where i can ramble away in my own sweet time using just as many words as i please! šŸ™‚

  3. your thoughts, are where my own lie, in the social networking arena. Though in recent times I have found blog less personally satisfying than I did, I much prefer blogging to abbreviated twits.

    Then there are Facebook ‘walls’; okay I can just about live with that. Many comments there are similar to what I perceive Twittering to be. There is no substance. It is though, I have found, a way to keep in touch with people who would otherwise be ships passing in the night into oblivion.

  4. Not just your life………………..look at what’s there already.

    A bored and tired, needing something to do that was not taxing, BBC newsreader, started off a reductionist game on Twitter, based on the titles of programmes or characters in them. I can’t think of anything more banal to catch on, but apparently, it did. It led to self-serving ‘clevernesses’ being broadcast, of course.

  5. I couldn’t agree more. The dullness and pain, are reasons why I won’t be twittering too any extent. Creating Haikus is a more intelligent and dynamic occupation and doesn’t have to ‘infect’ bored people wanting dull diversions. They probably wouldn’t want to be connected with anything that means real thinking.

    There was something called morse code; okay, you had to learn the language, which was internationally understood. It was far superior to Twitter etc and had a very definite purpose.

  6. I can’t handle facebook and twitter…. I’ll stick with blogging I think. By the way, have you seen my efforts to try and introduce everyone to new and different blogs? (I’ve given up waiting for BCUK to do something about it). It’s called Tylluan’s Recommended Blogs (at least, I think that’s what I called it….:roll:)

  7. Those two social networking sites are oddities which seem to have found a niche, at times a very high profile one. I can’t say they delight me. It is a way of maintaining contact with individuals I might not otherwise be able to, more so, Facebook than Twitter. The latter is unlikely to get any meaningful attention from me.

    There is a concise thought process with both of them, in particular, Twitter, which only allows so many characters to be used per ‘twit’. How comprehensible they are is known only between the individuals and groups that regularly use the services.

    I am sad to admit that I haven’t seen your efforts to guide people to different blogs of interest/s. Where is your guide to recommended blogs? Have you had any feedback on this idea from users?

    Blog UK already hve their ‘featured’ blogs, probably an attempt at a similar thing to your recommended blogs. They don’t do too well with it, in my opinion. There’s no reason therefore, to think Blog UK would do any better with your idea.

  8. They are strange entities, yet they are powerful communication points of their kind. They’re are not a blog, not even between one; Twitter and Facebook are just snippet fodder, some of it, totally incomprehensible. yet, for all that, it has been seen that they can be valuable in their inimitable ways.

  9. Disclaimer: I don’t use either.

    IMHO these are “bloat” technologies, i.e. they do not add a fundamentally different function. I think that’s why people use them in the way they do. There are just so many ways to post something on the Web that another way is almost pointless.

    http://lichtenburger.blog.com

  10. I completely understand where you are coming from.

    It is curious though, what a hold the ‘alternative’ communicators have. I have yet to analyse where all the power of it, is supported. Certainly the media is one source, and of course, they also create their own web space on Facebook and Twitter to connect with a large chunk of the population and what they see as the main users, particular age groups.

    Another power source is the speed at which reports can be put through, in great brevity, when there is something critical occurring somewhere. Self-selecting in part, it may be, nevertheless, there is a certain global communication ‘success’.

    One other, not so frivolous thought occurs to me, and that is there is a need for brevity in fora such as Facebook or Twitter, and the transmissions that are quickly written/digitised must be understandable transmissions. It is a skill, if done well.

    As for any other meaningful thoughts about such ‘chatting’ services, I would have to think deep and hard

  11. Twitter is more like sending a brief text message. I really do not use the twitter facility. A lot of it is, for me, banal, narcissistic, and a waste of time. However, there have been periods in recent events, when twitter and facebook have been amazing information passing and information gathering tools.

    One commentator said about facebook, that when Michael Jackson died, (a pop music star) she had to switch off facebook, which, apart from imparting the news before news agencies had it, were telling her what she should be feeling. She switched off all social network sites with which she had contact, so she could sit and think about what she, herself, actually felt, if anything!

    Many people access twitter via their cell phones, I believe.

  12. I don’t know if it is a cultural as well as an age-related issue, but the snapshot I get about Twitter use, is similar to yours, “There but not at home”

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

