SPYWARE BEWARE ….STOP ‘StopZilla’

While I was recently on the hunt for another spyware killer, I checked out StopZilla.

The reports appeared okay;
It seemed to be supported by Microsoft;
I started to download the programme.

Before the download was complete, there were software behaviour problems appearing. StopZilla was jumping in and out all over the place. This was definitely Stop loading Zilla time.

Getting this insidious programme off my machine was another story. It had plugged itself in and was intent on staying. I started a manual uninstall. SZ would not, however, relinquish the add/remove programmes listings. I was even locked out of the internet at one stage. Seeking out guidance on how to ‘delete StopZilla’ was not going to be open to me.

A restore to a previous point seems to have done the trick. However, for belt and braces, I shall check the registry. It would not surprise me to find a few branches of StopZilla there.

STOPZILLA IS SPYWARE – DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS PROGRAMME.

0 thoughts on “SPYWARE BEWARE ….STOP ‘StopZilla’

  1. That’s an interesting tip BC. I have downloaded something else, for a trial period, which I haven’t activated. I am thinking about removing it. I belive the company offering the one whose name I cannot remember, should be decent enough not to leave trails.

    My A/V is a good one, it has always proved to have been one of my best investments, and my firewall is okay as well. I shall look up malwarebytes, should I configure my firewall for it?

    Just so long as nothing conflicts with anything I download, and vice-versa, I shall be content.

  2. It’s pretty user friendly, minimal config changes will be required. It’s free so long as you are happy to use it as a search and destroy program, if you wnat realtime scanning, you need to donate to the creators.

  3. That sounds okay. I have Spybot, which does do real time scanning, if I want it to, and I do donate to them from time-to-time; I like to have a second arm to the spyware bow, as I find that what one doesn’t recognise as spam, another might. My ‘second arm’ is now on limited function, so I intend to delete it.

    Thanks. If I have any queries, I’ll come back to you,if I may.

    🙂

  4. Hi,

    I did a quick scan and the programme found 17 items. However, it effectively blocked my gmail contacts lists in the process. I am not sure how I would handle this. For now, I have restored the quarantined items and retrieved my gmail contacts.

    I have scanned with my other malware programme twice this week already, with no probs. Any ideas what I may configure not to be scanned or how I might sort this hiccup?

  5. Not sure on the Gmail issue as I’ve never used Gmail at all… I would presume you can set it to ignore them. However, should point out that it may have done that for a reason, could be that they were infected. You should be able to clean files without actually deleting or quarantining them.

  6. I’ll explore the malware tabs, but the cleaning issue wasn’t immediately obvious.

    The other malware programme didn’t affect my gmail contacts, ie. chat. It could just have been cookies or some such, but I don’t know what item/s would refer to that. I guess that H/ref keys is registry, and there were a few of those.

  7. Gmail is web based and what happened was, the ‘administrator’ (that’s me) blocked gmail contacts, according to the message. I restored the back-up (also quarantined)fixes. Lo! and Behold! My contacts returned. There’s something about Gmail it hasn’t sorted yet, or does not like. I will try again tomorrow, if the same thing arises then I will re-think my strategy.

    Ad-aware used to be my back up facility, but it became impossible to update it. I donate to Spybot. Though slower, it does whole system scans only, it is fine. It doesn’t seem to conflict with anything. I can choose to use it real time or not.

  8. Hi BC

    Re-scanned with malware programme today, the same scan as yesterday and remember, I restored what had been scanned and found ‘leaky’. No threats were found :**:

    I did a full scan of two drives and they were clean as well. I have no idea what was happening yesterday. Could it have been what is referred to as false positives?

    It’s a fast working scanner.

  9. Ooo-er can you simplify that for me; what does it mean?

    I am currently scanning the laptop which was invaded by StopZilla and apparently cured by a system restore. I don’t do so much on the laptop, so it may not respond in the same way as the PC.

    We’ll see. 🙂

  10. Heuristic scanning looks for files that can appear to be viruses, by matching patterns of code with known viruses. I can’t remember whether it does this or not, I think it does, but am not 100% sure!

  11. There was some mention of heuristic scans in MalwareBytes, so, presumably, the programme does them. I only knew the phrase ‘false positives’ ‘cos the download acceptance box gave details of fixes the programmers have made. I scrolled down and looked at a large number of fixes.

    Strange to say, hubby has no problem updating the other spyware programme I took off my system; I could never get access to the server on either my laptop or PC to update the malware signatures with the the removed programme. it was extremely good when it did work for me.

    I’ll see how this new set up works. 🙂

  12. Hello Menhir and Fellow Readers,

    My name is Mike Becker and I am with STOPzilla. I saw your post and wanted to take the time address some of the issues you experienced with STOPzilla.

    STOPzilla is an award winning solution that successfully scans, blocks, and removes Spyware, Adware and Malware. We are one of four anti-spyware programs that have been given the West Coast Labs Checkmark Certification for Anti-Spyware Installed. We’ve also been awarded Cnet Editor’s Choice Award, Laptop Magazine Editor’s Choice Award, five stars from Tucows, TopTenREVIEWS Excellence Award and many more.

    We offer free technical support to both trial users and registered users. Users can reach us by calling our toll free phone number (1.877.877.9944), or via live chat and email. Offering this level of support is unheard of in our industry. Any STOPzilla related problem or question can be resolved free of charge by our Customer Support department. For machine configurations that do not allow for the manual uninstall of STOPzilla, or if an infection on your machine before STOPzilla was downloaded interferes with our program, we have a clean up tool that insures STOPzilla will be removed. Had you chosen to utilize the free support we provide, we would’ve been able to help you remove it from the machine. Most likely in a matter of minutes and most likely without having to do a system restore.

    We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience, but if we can be of service to you in the future, please feel free to call us at 1-877-877-9944 or send us an email at support@is3.com.

    Once again, we apologize for the confusion, and hope this response will allow you, and any other readers here, to try STOPzilla in the future.

    Thank You.

    Mike Becker
    Customer Relations Associate, iS3, Inc.

  13. My experience with the trial version of StopZilla was diabolical…no amount of awards would have altered that experience. I am not prepared to have my system hijacked by anything, and that is precisely what StopZilla did.

    I downloaded the programme, having checked its provenance first. When problems arose I found there were an enormous number of complainants with similar situations to mine. And by the way, I had to access the internet via another machine, as I was locked out of the internet (and some other facilities), till I got StopZilla software off my system.

    The whole dreadful process started up again about a week after I did a system restore. I found so much of StopZilla still embedded in my system at that point, I went through a very careful manual clear out and clean up of my system. Now, so far, so good.

    Your suggestion that my machine may have already been infected before download, is a typical way of defending yourselves. It is a shabby tactic.

    I now have malware software on my machine that I am secure with, and everything is running sweetly. It will stay that way and without your ‘award-winning’ product.

    I assure you, following my experience, I will not be using StopZilla in the future or any related product.

    I accept your apology.

    Thank you.

    Menhir

  14. The update to this is, I wrote to the email customer address given in the text, (did a cut and paste for the address) guess what; the mail was returned. So much for Mike Becker and customer relations

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

