INTERESTING THERAPY

I left the physiotherapy session with a walking stick today. I was asked diplomatically, whether I would like to take it. The offer threw me into a quandary and I found I had a desperate need to explain to the one lady in the waiting room, that I wasn’t carrying the stick because I needed one, I really, (fortunately) did not.

What about anyone who might need a walking stick, would there be another one to provide? Was there a smaller less substantial stick? The one I was offered was a well-built specimen. The therapist stood in front of me,(stick proffered in my direction) grinning at me.

I carried it out over my shoulder like a ski, to the car,where I reverently placed it out of sight in the boot.

0 thoughts on “INTERESTING THERAPY

  1. Hi Isadora,

    Both the Therapist and I are in agreement that the small improvements are worth working on. We’re both doing our bits. Her boss, who was not involved in the initial assessment, seems to have other ideas. We will try to ignore him as long as possible.

    Hubby saw walking stick resting near the door and was under the impression I would be visiting his very elderly mum to sort out her walking stick feral. He was full of disbelief and shock when I insisted the stick was for me! It is really amazing the affect that a small but helpful tool can have on people’s perceptions, (including mine) when it is used for an alternative purpose. :yes:

  2. The stick I use is an heirloom, originally bought by my great-grandfather from the Norfolk countryman who made them by growing the wood to have a handle curve in the stem of the tree-shoot, it’s simple, slim, very strong and varnished a beautiful hazel brown colour.

    As a child, I remember my grandfather using this stick as a hook, when we went blackberrying, to pull down the best bunches so we kids could reach them. According to him, his father had done the same. It has got a bit shorter in its long life, but happens to be about right for me, which is nice. My son is much too tall, so I suspect I’ll be the last to use it for its true purpose which is rather sad.

    I also have a very long elegantly tapered straight stick with a turned ivory knob and a sharp brass ferule that belonged to a rather posh maiden great-great-great aunt and reeks of Victorian straight-laced values. I keep that handy near the front door, as it looks like a sword-stick and might come in handy for repelling borders and discouraging itinerant sales-persons.

    I suggest visiting an antique shop and getting yourself something properly built for the purpose. Those National-Health sticks are crude, heavy and have rubber ends the size of car-tyres – horrible.

  3. How lovely to hear from you Munzly.

    Your sticks sound absolutely wonderful. Could you post up some photos of them?

    Thanks for the correct spelling of ferule 🙂 I was unsure about it, and my quick dictionary didn’t give me any choices. I should have manually sought out the spelling from my thesaurus or dictionary, both of which are to hand. It’s amazing how lazy one gets about the finer things when using computers.

    Regarding the use of the crude stick I was given; sure it would suit a tall and large built male, I believe. However, the stick was not given to me for walking or balance purposes. I have to use it for a particular arm/shoulder exercise. I don’t own golf clubs, nor do we have anything vaguely suitable around the house that would have served the purpose. An oar was out of the question. I was therefore offered the stick.

    Giving me the stick (“You can have it” she said)threw up all sorts of feelings including one of guilt, that I might be depriving someone else who had a greater requirement.

    We have local charity shops, anything genuinely antique, would be so many miles away, it would mean a major special searching journey. If we travel away somewhere, I will bear your suggestion in mind, for future needs. Meantime, there are elegant, colourful folding sticks – which I believe are adjustable – that can be purchased through pharmacies. I am lucky, as up to now, I do not need any walking supports.

    Thanks for calling in for a chat. I greatly appreciate your comment.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

