I HAVE DONE THE UNTHINKABLE

This morning and during the early afternoon, I took time out with my camera. Some shots were curious, others were of the moment.

I have done the unthinkable. Having run through the pictures as a film show on the PC photo editor, by highlighting the ones I wanted to view, I then highlighted one picture to delete. You can guess the rest. All my pictures, from today’s shoots have gone, deleted off the memory card. I am gutted. They are irretrievable. It shouldn’t have happened. I can only think that the one picture I later selected for deletion, did not highlight. Usually, when you highlight one frame, the previous selection is de-selected.

I wonder though, as this is the first time I have lost pictures in this manner, whether a picture already highlighted just stays that way, along with any other. If so, that would explain my loss, though it does not make me any happier. I have learned a lesson.

From now on, I shall save the pix to hard disc before I tinker about with them. At least then, if I accidentally delete, there’ll be a back up. At worst, if I deleted anything off hard disc, I could retrieve it from the bin.

Grrrrr. :>>

0 thoughts on “I HAVE DONE THE UNTHINKABLE

  1. Oh so sorry. I did that last week with my cell phone camera. Took some really cool pics as I was sending to my computer I deleted. Not thinking that I should let them get delivered then delete. So what I got was blank shots. So now I know hard lesson to learn what I should have known šŸ™‚

  2. Isn’t it just…a hard lesson indeed.

    I had looked at the pictures too, and decided some were really interesting and worth having. Now I don’t have them.

  3. This sounds really interesting. When you say “put the memory card in a computer”, what exactly do you mean?

    I have a memory card reader in my printer which is attached to my computer.

    I have USB leads that connect from my camera, probably does the same thing as the memory slot in the printer.

    I don’t have a card reader in the processor box. Is there some other techie procedure I have no knowledge of?

    I am certainly going to try this and will Google any second now!

  4. If you take the memory card out of the camera, you can use a computer to undelete the images on it. If your computer has no card slots, that could be a problem. Then again, if you can access the card in the camera, from “My Computer”, instead of using your normal camera software, you might be able to use this sort of software to get the pictures back.

    Good luck!

  5. I am currently working on it. Got some back, but 19 of the particular ones, are difficult to recover. I will report back as and when I feel I have gone as far as I can go. Ooh, it’s not been a good feeling though.

  6. It has been very upsetting P. However, ‘bloomin’ technology’ is helping me to recover some of my losses, with the gratefully received advice of Walrus. Sadly, the animal antics I caught on camera this morning seem to be irretrievable.

    It is bed time and I wonder if I can try a little longer. It may be better to grow some extra patience overnight and see if anything more emerges. I have a sneaking feeling, not.

  7. I won’t be in a hurry to click the ‘yes’ button to delete in future. Once bitten, twice shy.

    I think I have recovered a sizeable number, perhaps, two thirds. My pix of this morning’s animal behaviours have been lost, sorry to say, unless I have missed a trick. I don’t think so, though. šŸ˜¦

  8. Walrus, many kisses and hugs and loads and loads of thank you’s. I retrieved all bar 19 pictures. Some of the lost ones were lovely but… I am so pleased to have the ones that were possible to get back.

    I placed the card in my printer reader slot, it shows up as a drive in its own right, then I played around with the various programmes that I could find that would allow me to save the recovered pictures. Some of the software only allows you to save if you buy. Understandable, but I was disinclined to do so for a one-off digital pic disaster. Now, if I had been writing a thesis or something, that would have been a very different story.

    After a hunt around, I found quite a user-friendly programme that worked okay, then a second programme recovered a few more pictures. The pictures I have, are well and truly saved to hard disk.

    Thanks again. šŸ™‚ xx

  9. I’m glad I could help. Many people never realise you can undelete if the card contents are still not over-written. Putting the card in the printer slot is a good one, I will have to remember that possibility. Most of the free software works as well as the paid-for sort, and often there’s a 30 day trial before needing to pay.

    As always, I’m glad I could help with a techy thing!

  10. Awful really.

    However, not all was lost. I was advised to go on the web and download undelete software. I retrieved all but 19 of the pix. Some of the lost ones, were some of the most interesting. That said, what’s left has some gems too.

    Some of the software won’t let you save your recovered pictures unless you buy, though it does show you what it can recover. For a one-off disaster,(I hope that is what it will be) I did not feel inclined to spend $69 plus,plus. I obtained the use of some demo programmes which did allow saves, and between two of them I retrieved about 40 pictures. The lost ones, were damaged in some form, so not recoverable; this was confirmed by three other programmes I played with.

    You can tell how I passed yesterday evening. Not what I intended, but that’s how it goes.

  11. It took a few goes to find software that would let you save the finds. A number would only show you what could be recovered unless you purchased. I had many pictures I had finished with and saved elsewhere, a long time ago.

    I have a fairly usefully sized memory card and tend not to overfill it. There is a temptation to do that, but then that’s lots and lots of hours of work sorting through and filing them properly later on. Where I have taken a huge number of pictures, say on a holiday, more of the card has been taken up. Even some of those personally deleted pictures were retrieved.

    I then used two undelete programmes that let me save, as one of them recovered pictures the first one did not. I checked with three programmes on the unretrievable pictures. The same result came up each time. I finally accepted my losses; 19 pictures from 71. There were some gems left, the others, I will have to commit them to the memory of the grey cells! You can tell how I spent yesterday evening, not what I planned for, but never mind. šŸ™‚

    Once again, Walrus, thank you for your invaluable advice.

  12. I sent a reply and did an edit. Moved on before it fully loaded. Now it’s in the ether somewhere….

    Essentially what I said was;

    I tried several undelete programmes. A number would only let you see what could be recovered, if you wanted to save the recoveries, you had to buy; understandable, but for a one-off incident (I hope) I was disinclined to spend $69 or more.

    A couple of demo programmes did the trick. One recovered some pictures the other did not. Out of 71 pictures I could not retrieve 19. Some of the lost ones, needless to say, were amongst the best, nevertheless, I still have some gems and I have the majority of my pictures. For this I am delighted.

    I tried another couple of programmes to double check on the non-retrievable pix. the results were the same. I have a fairly large capacity card which tempts you to overfill it. I try not to, though on holidays and suchlike, you do take a lot of pictures. It means a lot of sorting and filing if you do overdo the storage on the card. It does, however, save on carrying too many memory cards. I even recovered some pictures I filed a year or so ago, which are well and truly saved elsewhere.

    It is an amazing sight when you see ‘lost pictures’ and recent history, restored to the light!

    I am really grateful for your advice. It was a revelatory exercise. You can tell what I was doing last night, which was not in my original plan of activities.

  13. Nice to know the stuff I have been learning since 1978 is still useful, even though no employer within range of here will take me on for support or programming work, because I am “too old to know about computers”.

    Anyway, have fun!

  14. You aren’t the only one with maturity that doesn’t count for anything.

    The current thinking has gone in several concentric circles before emerging in today’s forms. Guess what, we did all those things, maybe differently, many years ago. Computing is still a young subject, it is going through all sorts of changes too, some weather the storms; some aspects alter, the basic concepts remain. Same thesis.

    Perhaps, we look as if we aren’t flexible enough. When I get a person my age telling me that one of the concerns could be about my familiarity with I.T. I have to submerge several chokes. I am probably more conversant than the person stating the ‘concern’.

    Sagacious is what we are. šŸ™‚

  15. How many of these kids have built a machine, including soldering 1500 perfect connections on the motherboard, lots more on the memory cards, and learned to program in machine code because assemblers cost a lot, and then implemented a high level language interpreter (Pilot) all on their own? Let alone made amendments to the operating system and hardware to implement a virtual memory switching system?

    Kids of today, they know nowt!

  16. My brother is much of purist like you seem to be. He has worked with a risc system most of his computer life. He has been forced to take on Apple and grudgingly admits there are some clever things about their systems

    I built a computer, with lots of help, as a night school project, many years ago. It doesn’t happen now, things have changed so much.

    Knowing the science of of programming and understanding the operation of memory and disks, is useful in itself. I knew about recovering of data from hard discs, it never occured to me the same could apply to memory cards. Ergo, formatting will be needed in some form, if selling on, or changing a system.

  17. I am not sure about losing all on cell phones. There must be a memory system to hold the pictures. I don’t know how you would get the computer to recognise the cell phone as a drive. There must be a way of doing it, you will have to investigate. Blue Tooth technology may be a way forward.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

