DO NOT IGNORE WARNING SIGNS

It does not do to ignore warning signs. Some months ago, my computer would not undertake a full malware scan with one of the programmes I have installed. It was happy with the quick scan. My other malware programme, which takes a long time to perform a full scan was okay. I had one that did and one that didn’t do the whole job, I was comfortable with that.

Next, after leaving my computer for, say half an hour, I would return to find it had closed down and re-booted. Very odd, I thought. If I set it to sleep mode (standby) I could return to my earlier work. Answer…use sleep mode. However, irritating things happened, like freezing of programmes just a little too frequently.

The last straw was my newly updated and paid for anti-virus programme could not complete a full scan,. though it was able to trot through a foreshortened scan. It was definitely time to speak to an expert.

The diagnosis is a corrupted hard disk, the damage appears intractable. I can’t complain though, it is the original drive and my computer in I.T. terms should be on life support. Fortunately, all my data is on another disk drive. The fix is to get a new hard disk and move my programmes onto the new one. It has been explained to me how it will be done.

The silver lining in all this is, I shall obtain a much larger capacity drive, I won’t need to ration my programme updates and downloads and my computer won’t need resuscitating again for a good long while.

It was fortuitous that a long time ago, I had installed a second disk drive, separating off my data from the main disk drive to avoid the problem of corrupted data. But…….and it is a big ‘but’, I should not have ignored the warning signs.

I’m off now, to do a back up of all my data on my external drive.

:yes:

0 thoughts on “DO NOT IGNORE WARNING SIGNS

  1. That is very efficient of you to partition off all your data on to a separate disk. Its such a bind putting all your stuff onto a back up disk, and trying update it with more added stuff even more of a bind, so you should give yourself a big pat on the back for saving everything

  2. I’ve added all the memory I can to the PC ages ago…the laptop is next. I’ll gain HD capacity with this latest performance, but it’s not the best way to do it.

  3. Why, thank you. A most unexpected compliment!

    I shall still do the external drive back up, for belt and braces. My next job is to think about archiving, and the best way to deal with that.

  4. I have been pretty much out of the loop these last two days for almost the same problem! I had some weird Adware that happened. How it appeared on my machine is a mystery, but I have my suspicions. I have a great virus checker … shame it doesn’t work on Adware, eh?

  5. A/v’s work on what it says on the tin. Adware programmes do the other job, if you do not have a combined a/v anit-malware system. Have you got an anti-malware programme installed? There are one or two good and trusty free ones. I have tried the odd one that plants just what yhou don’t want on your machine, on recommendation! The bum’s rush was soon applied; clearing up the trails took time. I stick with my trusty one. It amazes me what people think is super clean, no knowing what is happening in the gubbins of their systems.

    I hope you won’t need a new hard drive. Mine is at the point of no return, but not because of malware. It has just developed weakened disk areas amounting to corruption of the hardware quality.

  6. Yes, I appreciate that LOL I now have the software I *should* have had and rather regret not having. I am fairly sure I won’t need a new drive, but if I do, so be it. I could do with a whole new machine. I just get a bit annoyed at the folk who seem to spend time actually writing this stuff for the simple reason of trashing other folks machines.

  7. Sounds like your equipment is as old as mine. The computer man has tried to get me to consider helping the economy (ha, ha, whose?) by purchasing a replacement. He is a reseller, though I hasten to add, he does not push too hard. He agreed with me the other night that Vista was crap, he’s using Windows 7, and says he’ll tidy his office so I can visit (!!!) to see it at work.

    Once I get my new ‘C’ drive my machine should go on for a good while longer as it is.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

