KEEPING SCHTUM ABOUT MUMS

It is Mother’s Day in the U.K. There are different dates around the world for celebrating mums, that is, in cultures where mums are venerated. I wonder how aware people are of this. June each year, wonderful bouquets appear at one lady’s door,which are ordered from Canada. She beams when explaining why they have appeared. I do wonder how she feels about the commemorations happening around her here in the UK on Mothering Sunday, 14th March, which will also be signalled in the church service she attends. I can’t help but think she does feel an emptiness. The lady won’t say.

I think about the people of all ages who have no mums to spoil, not even for a day. I feel for people who are recently bereaved. My mother died some years ago. There were two other very special ladies who have also gone. I think of all three regularly, not just on a nominated day. True, my mother has a different and extraordinary link that no-one else can step into or replace. That said, the three ladies in my life have all left indelible and marvellous memories. In their own distinctive manners, they greatly influenced my life.

0 thoughts on “KEEPING SCHTUM ABOUT MUMS

  1. I’ve always been keen on celebrating….Mothering – lovely English word….great concept; or Motherhood…both concepts whichn one can experience ( I do) in many women – even men…. Happy Mothering Day!

  2. I enjoy celebrating Mother’s Day but I hate the way that it is used as a way to make money out of people. I have always preferred home made cards, as a bit of thought and care goes into it and rather than flowers or chocolate I think about an experience my mum will enjoy – doesn’t need to to be costly, a picnic, day in the country – something she will remember long after the carnations have withered.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

