CHEESE-ee SENSES

I do not think that I am a connoisseur of cheeses, however, I do know what I like and when it comes to Cheddar type cheese, I like a really good strong one. Probably, what I like is off the scale (based on a scale of 1 – 5). The most glorious farm Cheddar cheese I have bought in recent times, is made in England and I can only obtain it about 90 miles from where I live.

My local store was offering the customers a taste of dainty squares of cheese on a cocktail stick. The cheese was called a Strong Canadian Cheddar. How did it impact on my senses;

1)Smell – a cheese smell of the type I recognise, not a ‘soft’ nondescript one.
2)There was a slight crumbliness. This could have been due to drying out a bit in the air. As it turned out, quite likely.
3) In its favour, it was a yellow cheese, not coloured orange.
4) The initial impact on the taste buds, very powerful.
5)Texture – not what I expected, the core of the piece was rather rubbery.
6)After-taste. suffused the mouth with acid, so much so, I resorted to a piece of peppermint chewing gum to get rid of the ‘coating’ and flavour, and to cleanse my palate.

Verdict:

This cheese was a factory processed cheese, which arrived in large refrigerated vacuum packed blocks. The product was an acidic assault on the taste buds and my system.

From me, it gets a definite thumbs down. :no:

There are superior processed and farm cheeses made here in the UK. If I can get them, I would far rather have an excellent, well reputed British farm produced product. There’s nothing like it. :yes:

0 thoughts on “CHEESE-ee SENSES

  1. A very well considered evaluation and conclusion my friend 🙂
    I’m not a fan of strong cheese myself, so it is likely that I wouldn’t enjoy the Canadian or the “home made” product. As a generalisation, I would say that I prefer mild creamy cheeses.:yes:

  2. I do eat a range of cheeses and enjoy them if they are well produced. If I had access to a decent cheese shop I would use it. Have you tried Manchego? I think that’s a pleasant mild cheese. I like a not too salted Edam, and that is getting harder to source. I treat myself to the occasional piece of Gouda, but in dietary terms, like the Manchego, it is rather rich. I do love the farm produced Single and Double Gloucester cheeses. They are not easy to get hold of; Single Gloucester is like trying to find hen’s teeth!

  3. That has crossed my mind as well. Canada is not part of EEC so they are not restricted by naming conventions by it.

    However, if Cheddar wanted to make an issue of it, I suppose it could. At least The Canadians could call it ‘Cheddar Style made in Canada’. That would be something to acknowledge the difference, as against the long-standing shorthand version of ‘Canadian Cheddar’.

    The question for me is; how many Cheddar cheeses that are sold in the UK are actually made in the Cheddar area?

  4. I think I tend to agree processed cheese seems to have no flavour at all we do have some great cheeses in this country I particularly like Stilton cheese 😉

  5. Oh yes, a really good farm Stilton cheese can be superb. 🙂

    I am dubious about the present habit of pre- vacuum plastic packing of pieces of cheese.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

