UNHOLY HICCUPS

You would think that I signed up for paperless billing, because so far, I have had to chase my bill every month of this year. Why bother to send a customer a text message giving the choice to opt in or out, answer by a certain date in 2009, then the choice to stay opted in, is totally ignored? I have kept the text message and my reply. I also have the company’s confirmation that they would adhere to my wishes. :yes:

The only benefit, so far, of keeping the company’s text communications, is that it stops the operators in their menu tracks when they start to tell me I can’t have what I have always had. Out of four operators, I had the misfortune to get one who could not keep her politics to herself and was very threatening. She did nothing to deal with my request. The other three have been lovely people, they’ve all done the same data form-filling online and got me one bill delivered. The system, as understood by the operators, should have set me up for monthly paper bills ad infinitum. I should have received two this month (March was missing) I received one bill. March is still missing. I swear the system is out to frustrate customers till they give up. Not this one! >:-[

The staff indicate they are weary of upset customers who, like me, wished to stay opted in for monthly standard billing by post. We aren’t all going to die out in a hurry. It is no surprise that if I agreed to an itemised bill, which incurs an extra charge, I would get it; though with the unholy hiccups in the data instructions, there’s no guarantee the customer would get what they might pay for.

:##

0 thoughts on “UNHOLY HICCUPS

  1. We had a purge of all our surplus paperwork, old payslips et all, we filled a couple of shoeboxes. Most of our bills are online now. It soon builds up, but there is nothing better than actually holding a bit of paper in your hand whe n you have a query. Hope you get it sorted, and yes, 1 in 4 is about right ratio for rudeness.

  2. I much prefer the tangible evidence; it has always paid off in the past. With a company’s own bill there is less likelihood of being accused of re-designing something that’s on the internet!

    1:4 rude, that really is a sign of the times isn’t it. It shows the true value of customers to an organisation and the poor quality control of their systems. We’ve got to buck up if we, as a nation, are to succeed in the modern global environment.

  3. You appear to have some of the keystroke gaps that I get when using the laptop! You know you have pressed the key,notwithstanding, it seems a gremlin interferes with the process of recognising the different keystroke pressures. It’s an annoyance.

    Post heading, is excessively polite about the ‘kerfuffle’.

  4. Apparently, :yes: More likely that I am merely a two-finger operator….running before having learnt to walk properly. :)) Pardon! šŸ™‚

  5. I am a five finger operator, it is impossible to be so on a laptop, there just is not finger-spread space. Two or three fingers often work more efficiently on laptops. I find it a whole new working technique; you’re not on your own.

  6. I’m getting better…especially at the onerous task of ‘reverting and correcting’ as I go along….Much too ingrained at this stage of my life…:))
    Good to know I’m not alone….

  7. Reverting = back spacing, yes? You’d be surprised what skills you can take on board at most ages. Hubby started off with two fingers on the keyboard, apart from speeding up amazingly, I see he now uses a third finger sometimes.

    “I’ll never do this fast” or, “I can’t do…” I remember hearing. It’s all history now.

  8. I DO manage the occasional 3rd…even 4th finger…BUT the ‘Two’ appear so efficient….:yes: ‘reverting’ = ‘back spacing’….

  9. hi there, i read this post a few days ago but ran out of time to comment. it does seem pathetic that companies do not help, but so much of the systems are autogenerated and the staff on the phone ARE as frustrated with it as you.

    x

  10. Hello,

    That is so true, Happy28. The three people who were really nice, I actually felt sorry for!

    Is this a new technique I ask ā“

    šŸ˜‰

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

