GROWING THINGS TO SOON?

Gardening: I am determined that this year the difficult corners I started work on twenty-three years ago shall take some shape, similar in idea, to my original intentions. There were several reasons why the creations lay dormant all this time, the main ones being, life getting in the way and someone else’s ideas being superimposed. I never expected to find my early terracing design under all the unkempt grasses, leaves and healthy large weeds. But, yes, there it was, with little wall intact.

What now: so far I have planted herbs from seed, together with young herb plants. The latest additions are, a variety of mints that are very definitely residing in their pots, they will even be constrained in them. I am expecting an apple mint to join the other varieties soon. I threw some radish seeds in to the ground, let’s hope they’re not too old to respond. It’s worth a try.

My hopes for colourful, peppery and interesting salads lie in nasturtiums, they make lovely vibrant colours with their joyful flowers. They don’t attract aphids and behave like a weed here; they don’t always self-seed like they do in warmer places. They can and do in milder climates. Marigolds were next on the agenda. I planted the wrong ones for salad, but they’ll break up the green leaf food brigade with some pretty flowers. When I realised my mistake, I did set some of the right seeds in little pots on the kitchen windowsill. With any luck, I shall still get a short term supply of edible marigolds,aka calendula.

Of course, most of these plans and wishes depend on the weather warming up encouraging my little crops to grow. It’s nearly June, the weather forecasters have warned of night frosts in some areas. I’m left wondering if I have been a bit too enthusiastic planting herb crops out in late May.

0 thoughts on “GROWING THINGS TO SOON?

  1. Well done! Now that you have planted the seeds don’t worry too much about the frosts – think lucky, as Mr Penry likes to say.

    When we moved to our present home we discovered a complete rockery and a path all hidden under the undergrowth – there is something about gardening that appeals to the mystic within, I always think. Perhaps it’s the natural alchemy of turning seeds into plants.

    Like you, I enjoy the peppery taste of Nasturtion – years ago I even used to pickle the seeds which taste a little bit like capers. Only the other day I finally threw out some of my old/ancient pickling jars.

    Best of luck with your garden Menhir – it’s all yours now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You should be all right – frost at this time of year is usually only a threat if they are in the first flush of new growth. Good luck – sounds as if you have your work cut out.

  3. Thanks Ellie. Yesterday was bright with a very cold Southerly wind. I planted out some young nasturtiums, just in case the seeds I planted don’t do anything. There were a few too many, I hadn’t the heart to dispose of them though. I wonder if they will survive the cold weather we are experiencing. Even I am dressing up warmer! At the front of the house I have used up a space for flowering non-edible things, upright growing things like salvia and geraniums. They like sun, when it deigns to come out, they will get a good bit of it.

    Today is not brilliant, I do pray for a bit of warmth that lasts a while. Even for us humans it would be nice.

  4. Your plants should be alright menhir I saw that the north of england were going to have a little warmer weather like the rest of us ๐Ÿ˜‰ fingers crossed we lost a few plants this year due to the harsh winter ..but what amazed me was how hardy the winter pansies were they looked like they were finished and they survied the cold …

  5. A Thyme survived -20 and all the other minuses we had, though it wasn’t my plant. I’ve now got one, so we’ll see how it does in my more exposed garden. I’m not expecting annuals to behave as perennials, not where I live. Some of my perennials are fine, including my peony which I thought I had killed off when weeding fairly heavy handedly, earlier this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Thanks Marika; I wait in hopes. So far, the only picking things are parsley, ( my penultimate post gives more info on that) some lettuces, also coriander bought as plants. There are basil plants on the window sill, one Greek, (fab flavour and aroma)and chives outside, we’ve had for many seasons. The calendula seedlings on the windowsill are almost ready for pricking out.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

