A FESTIVE MIX

Leeds is full of streets of festive lights, nothing seems to follow a theme or holistic design. It’s all a bit higgledy piggledy if the décor is taken as a whole. If visually compartmentalised, the decorations are lively and bright.

My eyes were drawn to the Victoria Quarter, a modern construct that has joined genuine Victorian streets with glass roofing,streets, which were not built historically as a shopping arcade. The genuine original solid roofed arcades are not as well presented as the Victoria Quarter, (not ‘Victorian’, you will note). To be fair, on my recent visit, great efforts have been made to prettily decorate the genuine arcades and their shop windows. Anyway, the Victoria Arcade was a veritable sparkling cracker.

P1030440 Decorated Victoria Qtr

Santa was practising for a variety show:

P1030443 Oops Santa Victoria Qtr

In the Leeds Art Gallery I was impressed with The Tiled Gallery, operating as a café and offering lots of other social potential.

P1030437 Tiled Hall Art Gallery

Homer (or his look-alike) scrutinised the café patrons from his corner position on high.

P1030438 Homer Tiled Hall Art Gallery

In the Art gallery’s entrance hall, borrowed sculpted figures by Henry Moore, (and notable others) were on display. I got into a minor bit of bother for taking this picture from behind the work. I was told picture-taking was not allowed for art works on loan to the gallery. It was okay to photograph anything that was owned by Leeds and was on display there. I apologised for my unwitting infringement of the rules. The kind custodian, allowed me to keep my picture.

P1030439 Rodin at Art Gallery

0 thoughts on “A FESTIVE MIX

  1. It looks a lovely place to spend some time – shopping of course, but also chatting with friends. Very attractive – I love these old spaces rejuvenated such that they keep some of their original character.

  2. Thank you for this guided tour through your eyes. There is so much of Leeds I still have to discover – especially the art galleries .I want to go to that cafe too.
    LOVE the first pic 🙂

    XX

  3. There appears to be an agreement with the major UK galleries (perhaps international collections too?) about photographing works on loan to another place. There were some other art works in the gallery that attracted me, for different reasons in each case, any photograph would not have done them justice. I therefore, I did not use my physical camera to capture them, I am relying on my personal memory of the mental image and the impressions the works and objects made upon me.

  4. The Leeds Quarter has a lot of original features, but as for old character, I cannot be sure. The genuine arcades, darker, because of their solid roofing, had a totally different feel to them. It is certainly a fun place to wander through, even without seasonal decorations. Best to visit without a purse, credit card, or, dare I say it, a cheque book.

    For a chatting group, a catch up, or savouring a good sipping coffee or ranges of teas, it is an interesting environment to meet in, especially if you enjoy people watching.

    I can’t say that Leeds would be my favoured place to shop, there are other less contained places to go for similar range and choice.

  5. In Bradford there were lighting themes in the streets for Eide, following through with Christmas festive lights. It was brightening and interesting to see.

    Winter nights do need brightening, especially where I live, as the daylight hours are so very short during this season. Our town square retains lights around the trunks of trees, long after the main Christmas lights have been switched off and removed. It continues to brighten things up a bit till spring (if we get one) arrives.

    🙂

  6. Hello Miramaze,

    Thanks.

    The Victoria Quarter is a pleasant place to wander (without too much spending power in the pocket!) Last time I visited, there were some people on stilts doing something amusing. It seems to glitter of its own accord, the glass roofing and the careful design maintenance of the shop fronts all help with this. You can get a coffee that is to my liking, sit and sip it on the main concourse, shown in the picture.

    There are a number of museums worth a look, and a walk around the city centre will treat you to many insights of local history. The plaques are worth pausing for. (I wasn’t at all impressed with the on/off bus tour instituted in 2010).

    The coffee served in the tiled gallery is a ‘vintage’ variety, very strong and heavily roasted. It would work well for a cappuccino or a Latte. I really enjoyed tile-spotting in the gallery café. Lots of people used the café to have a working lunch.

  7. Le rodin. C’est l’arte. Moi, j’aime le travailles de Rodin, il est tres expressif. Il est difficile de la voir dans un photo, specialment avec les deux figures ici, qui sont ensemble et ils sont vu de la derriere.

  8. What a great thought! Everywhere I travel from where I live is an expedition.

    You’d love Edinburgh, and again, a long way from where I live. I think it is a great city to visit. Glasgow is fun with lots going on as well.

    🙂

  9. Excuse-moi, j’ai faute; les sculptes etaitent de l’artist Henry Moore, pas Rodin.

    Et difficile de faire plaisir a tous, toutes les temps! L’artist est maintenant, un classicist de son epoque. son Travaille est plus preferable a moi, que le majorite de l’arte de Picasso.

  10. In the gallery, there was the most wonderful physical sculpted young man by Rodin, originally used as a garden ornament. It had a glorious patina from the years it was exposed to the elements. I adore his famous “The Kiss” and also “The Thinker”.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

