A SALUTARY TALE

My cell phone signalled that I had received a text message. The message invited me to claim a sum of money for my car accident. There was guidance to text ‘yes’ or ‘no’. I asked my insurance company if they had passed on my details to accident chasers. Was the text, I was asked, suggesting I could obtain X number of pounds sterling if I claimed? To my surprise, the question mirrored my message. This person had received the same text, she said. I was advised to delete it and not reply, as there was no knowing from where messages emanated; it could be a costly reply. I was profoundly disturbed by this news as I had already replied, with a ‘No’. It was the very first time I had received a scam text and I fell for it because of the lack of experience and because it fitted circumstances that were not so distant in the past.

On my bill were three calls outwith the cell phone package charges. One I recognised the other two were expensive 0870 phone numbers, and I puzzled over them. A bit of research showed, to my amazement, that these numbers were based in France! I had been charged for receiving a text and I was charged a higher amount for transmitting a response saying, ‘No’.

Your cell phone tells you there is a text message to open, so, that’s what you normally do. I have received yet another one of the text messages, and unfortunately, I opened it, though, this time I immediately deleted it. In all probability I will be charged for receiving the message. I now feel I can no longer freely open any text message I receive. In future, I will have to treat all text messages as suspicious.

>:XX >:-[

0 thoughts on “A SALUTARY TALE

  1. Mmmmm…..Very interesting conundrum here….The Cell phone companies ought to be alerted to these…especially re: our receiving messages from these costly numbers….This could ultimately destroy the Companies…:roll: :>

  2. The companies make money from charging for the receipt and sending of continental calls/texts and 0870 and similar numbers. It’s hardly in their interests to block paying traffic. :>>

    I also discovered that my phone company charge me £1.50 for a directory enquiry if it is not theirs. It’s on their website but I had not noticed. This can be standard practice. To be fair, their own charge competes with the advertised cheaper Dir Enqs. They are only cheaper if your provider supports the call.

  3. I think you know that this issue is not as straightforward as your thoughts suggest. A change of companies will not resolve these external abuse issues. It has been going on a long time, with various consumer groups dealing with individual extreme cases in the past.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

