DOZILY HOOFING AROUND WITH SHERLOCK AND DR WATSON.

The weather maps did not look brilliant from Friday through till Sunday. I do not know where the heavy plumps of rain fell that we were to expect. Thus far, we’ve had a few raindrops and one inconsequential shower which passed by. Unheard of I know, but I actually watered my few plants, my herbs and the edible flora I have planted.

This afternoon I sat on a cushioned recliner in a warm corner of the garden intending to read. I did read, just one short article, following which, I fell asleep in the warmth soaking up lots of natural vitamin D in the process. Good while you can get it. To my amazement, I roused over two hours later. Resolving to go back to my reading, I completed a short detective story by the master of 20th Century mystery, Dr. Arthur Conan Doyle: Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson, what a perfect team they made!

There is bright evening sunshine now. The neighbours are busy strimming and tidying their flower borders. Another neighbour is watering his garden.

Over at the farm, in the penned off area of the field for the lambs, a very stocky and large Suffolk lamb called Dougal, who towers over his younger compatriots, is very noisily signalling that he wants more feed in the empty trough that he is hoofing and banging. It is hoped he will be show championship material. In any case, he looks as if he is going to be quite a character.

0 thoughts on “DOZILY HOOFING AROUND WITH SHERLOCK AND DR WATSON.

  1. Sounds idyllic compared to the miserable drizzly day we had today. However yesterday I went to Kings Lynn stockcars with the forecast of heavy rain and it was as dry as a bone and sunny until 9 ish.

  2. It does sound ideal. I remember loving the fiction of Dr. Doyle. How amazing that it was over a half a century ago. Thank you for reminding me. And I hope you do enjoy many pleasant days in your garden.

  3. You know Mick, yesterday was idyllic. There are not many days I can describe like that over several years. A rarity indeed for us.

    We have rain this morning and I gather, lots and lots of it to come.

  4. Conan Doyle died in 1930 and practised as a doctor for a relatively short period in his life, however, wrote much, in a variety of genres. He must have been a very interesting person. I have two or three books that are ‘dippable’ and his stories is one of them.

    We don’t often have ideal weather conditions like those experienced the weekend just past. It was a lovely treat.

  5. Shimon, I was thinking about a thought you had. You said you did not always understand what I was writing about. I am very sure your understanding of language is more than sufficient to understand what I write. You seem to write like a native – at the risk of wrath, better than some of the natives – of the English language. There may be the occasional quirky phrase that would take some knowing, but I do not think you were referring to that. I was therefore trying to understand the meaning of this thought.

    Could it be that you are wanting to seek some deeper meaning into what I write than there might be? I am a descriptive writer much of the time, occasionally, I border onto philosophizing though I do not go into depth, as I am not by nature or training a philosopher. Such writing by me is rare. Most of us analyse, whether we completely agree with other peoples’ analyses is a different subject. It is best to take what there is in what I write, and if it pleases, or interests, so be it.

    Now and again I will tackle a sensitive subject that few people will respond to, sometimes none. There are many causes for this and in the present world situation putting ones head above the parapet can be full of risk. There will not be too many responders in that category, I suppose, but who can tell.

    Then again, there are more localised issues which an outside commentator may have no inkling about. Not understanding references to such matters is completely understandable. Local and regional culture will have a part to play here too.

  6. Thank you very much for your kind words, and your effort to bridge the gap. I think that despite my study of the language, there are some gaps, as you say, because of the cultural differences. It has been many years that I haven’t ventured out of my country, and about forty years since the last time I was in England… and sometimes I do feel that I’m not getting it all. But I always enjoy learning something new.

  7. Hiya Marika,

    I fell asleep and forgetting about such things as sunburn, my lower legs were, below the hemline.

    It will remind me that we had one day this year, the first for a good few, when I could enjoy sitting outside. Mustn’t forget the use of sun cream if the opportunity arises again.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

