DOING THE DEED

It’s stopped raining for a bit. Perhaps this will be a good time to go out and re-plant the Lovage I positioned in my herb corner a few hours ago, (in the rain) in what seems to be the wrong positions. I should have checked the growing behaviour of the plant before I placed the two plants where I did. Reading a bit about Lovage, it seems the plant should be planted at the back of a herb border or garden. I’ve put my two exactly where it is not advisable for them to go. I am so glad I did not buy the half-a-dozen plantlings that were suggested as a purchase.

😦 I guess all will be well. I shall now toddle off and do the re-siting deed.

0 thoughts on “DOING THE DEED

  1. The deed is done. The compost block came up with the young plants as if it had not been disturbed.

    I think this is one occasion when root binding has inadvertently worked. The plantlings looked a bit stressed and a kind lady picked out two of the least affected, for which I gave the asked amount. It was nominal. Now I will wait and see. Bonus; if we don’t get another diabolical Winter like the last one, these plants are perennials, but then so was my Thyme…..

  2. You can have half of ours as well. I halved it and it’s still immense. I stank of Maggi sauce all day until I had a shower, even then it was in my nostrils. They do call it the Maggiplant in Holland and Maggikraut in Germany. We don’t use it much, tending to use Russian Tarragon, Rosemary and Basil more in our style of cooking but it is excellent in stews or casseroles but only in small quantities as it can be a bit overpowering.

  3. Oh, thanks for that cookery guidance Mick, researching that was my next task. I am interested and seeing how it does with stews etc. Why Maggi? I haven’t used that, so don’t know what it is like.

    It sounds like I shall have to keep the Lovage under control. Our weather conditions will probably assist there.

    I am interested in your reference to Russian Tarragon. What is it like and where might I get some? I use a lot of tarragon with fish and in some salads.

    Like you, I use Rosemary and Basil, in addition I like Oregano and sage. I have a purple sage growing at the moment. I have tried it before in a pot, it wasn’t happy. In the ground it seems to be doing a bit better.

  4. Maggi is has been around ages, it is of German origin and was used as a cubed buillon, meat substitute for stews and soups. The Russian Tarragon, ah, well I used to grow French Tarragon but it is notoriously hard to keep and we lost it each winter, not surprisingly, Russian Tarragon is more hardy and although the taste is not as strong, seeing as it is quite a strong flavour, you don’t need much anyway. Most garden centres stock it although French is more popular. The Purple Sage; we had some but we bought some Blackcurrant Sage as well, the flowers are brilliant crimson and the taste is really strong blackcurrant and a rather milder sage taste so you can put lots more in without tainting the overall taste too much as the blackcurrant then dissipates a bit. You can train it as a bush but it doesn’t overwinter. Try to get hold of some Pineapple Sage as well, that is really wonderful stuff, magic taste, really fresh.

  5. I have seen Maggi, never used it.

    Blackcurrant sage is a new one on me. I wonder if all these alternatives will grow in tough climates. I’m not sure anything much will over winter here if we get anymore winters like the last one. The Russian Tarragon sounds hardy, if I can find some, I’ll give it a go.

    I have pineapple and apple mints. When you are used to the usual peppermint flavours, these are quite extraordinary. they are mild in their way, a bit fruity, great in salads.

    Thanks 🙂

  6. I wonder if I have ever had it. A good minty mint makes for a great mint infusion, which is drunk all over the Mediterranean and the Middle East.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

