TOTAL INCREDULITY; IS A SHORTAGE LOOMING?

You’re kidding, you really cannot be serious!”

Truly, I was incredulous……the woman, a produce supervisor in a local national chain store, nodded her head and said she was perfectly serious.

Are you really wanting me to put in a customer request for an item the store has carried since it opened….a basic fruit line?

I was astounded when she explained, the customer request could probably put the product back on the delivery schedule.

Why do you think it is not on the schedule?” The swift answer returned was, the card was no longer on the shelf where the product was usually to be found. I thought It could have fallen off the frame, though I did not say. There was no sight of a card or proof of a misplaced one. There was a gap where some produce should have been.

The Customer Services assistant was equally as nonplussed; “I suppose she should know, she is the produce supervisor“. While writing out the form on my behalf, the assistant was shaking her head and saying “it’s a basic selling line, you wouldn’t think it would be taken off the store sales.”

I found a senior member of store staff, albeit a compliance manager. Apt, I thought. He suggested that it might be a seasonal supply problem. Then after thinking momentarily about it, he said he could not understand either why I would need to place a customer request in to the Tesco ordering system to buy GRANNY SMITH APPLES!

0 thoughts on “TOTAL INCREDULITY; IS A SHORTAGE LOOMING?

  1. I kid you not, I was and still am astounded that Granny Smith’s have to be a special request in a Tesco store that has stocked the apple since the store opened, years ago.

  2. I’ve had a few Cox’s Orange Pippins from Tesco, they were not good grade and very expensive when they came in last year. I got better and tastier supplies of those British Apples, from Britain, via Lidl’s, and at a fair, (not cheap) price for the size and quality of the fruit.

    x

  3. I don’t understand why people do nothing against these practices. Unity is strength. The system made so that we are individualistic, so that we are not united. It is easier for system to push nails one by one…

  4. We are in a small remote area, nearly the last in a long chain. Our population numbers are not large enough to make huge impact. We don’t have many choices where I live, and I am grateful for the limited extra choices that have arrived in the last 12 years.

    I managed to get the type of apple I wanted in one other fairly expensive store. They were small apples, good quality and had great flavour. Even better, they were reduced in price. People do not buy a big amounts of shopping in this other shop because their prices are higher and their selection of produce and goods is not very good.

    Lidl’s are selling lots of red apples at present. They do get Granny Smith’s sometimes. Their fresh goods vary week by week, except for staple foods like carrots and potatoes; they always have those, but then, so do the other shops.

  5. Where I live, in the far North, fruits like apples from farm shops that don’t exist, is not really an option. We do not have many trees for natural reasons, and it’s too cold for most fruit trees to thrive. We do not have orchards within reach. Soft fruits are grown under cover by one grower, to spurt them along. I’d rather wait for the slower, later, ripening berries and enjoy picking them from the uncultivated bushes.

    Thanks for popping in. x

  6. You are so right. We are grateful for stores that bring in varieties of foods we would not see, or if we did, would, as in the past, pay for them through the nose. At least the extra couple of shops create a little bit of choice and I would say, healthy competition. I don’t understand the missing Granny Smith apples situation at all.

  7. Chez nous, hypermarckets sell also bad fruits.

    Best fruits are in Arabs ‘groceries in Paris. Delicious big pears, apples, etc… The same for vegetables. They go to “Marché international de Rungis”, to stock up…

    When I wiorked in Paris, I went at 7 o clock to buy fruits. (I made the diet to to lose weight)…

  8. J’ai vu les marche Arabes en Paris et aussie en Marseille. Les pains et les fruits etaitent superbe. Les marche Greque/Turque en Londres avaitents les bons fruits toujours. Le difficulte ici et que les fruits existes, ils son pas mal, mais nous ne connaisons pas quands ils arrive, si en arrives.

  9. I’m not protectionist, and trade should be a multi-way process. I am not seeking unusual fruits out of season, however, I see my daily Granny Smith as a health option. I’m not keen on many apples. For a short term alternative, I would eat Braeburns, also British, but again, beautifully produced in the Antipodes. Our Cox’s are lovely when in season, if they haven’t been travelling too long.

  10. Egyptian potatoes are gorgeous potatoes, especially as an alternative to limited supplies of Jersey potatoes. I don’t think the Egyptians will be doing much exporting this year, we are unlikely to see any of their crops where I live.

    There are locally grown varieties available here, some are quite nice, others are not. The really good ones were deemed by the powers that be, and seem to know, as unsuitable to seed and grow. I think they could carry disease that might spread to other varieties if not carefully farmed and harvested. Potatoes are not really an issue for us.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

