DECENCY AND DIGNITY IN A HOSPITAL WARD-CANCELLATIONS AND SILVER LININGS

No sooner were we back from a trip than within 48 hours we had to set to, to travel a further 400 miles there and back. We had two nights accommodation reserved on the most economic pre-payment deal. The first, so that we could arrive in time for an early start and the second night for rest and recovery.

So, there I was trying to be bright and perky, sitting on a hospital trolley bed, in a standard issue gown that gaped at the back, however, I had been allowed to keep my knickers on for the sake of dignity and decency. I politely answered the nice nurse’s questions about my health, smiled when my blood pressure was taken, and then sat back to read. The theatre list had not yet appeared and there was no indication of when the consultant would appear. It is advisable to have a really gripping book or magazine to read in these circumstances. :yes:

Having done as I was told and finished eating or drinking before 7am (I ate a banana at 06.50) my stomach didn’t tell me it missed breakfast. The lady next to me, waiting for the same consultant, decided to snooze. A young girl opposite on a different medical mission was chatty. :DD

By 09.45 I was progressing really well with my book when a nurse in dark blue appeared. She introduced herself as the senior theatre nurse. …….Terribly sorry, the consultant was ill and there was no-one else who could stand in. 8| She chatted a bit more and was really sorry for the awful inconvenience I had…… All that travelling…..It’s a long way ……people don’t realise do they, and so on. There was some discussion about the possibility of making alternative arrangements in the near future; I wished the consultant better, then set about organising myself for a dignified exit, after I had a hot drink and some toast.

The other lady who was affected by the cancellation, and who lived locally, munched an egg sandwich and had a cup of tea. She was was definitely not a happy bunny about the medical cancellation, and hoped ….he,[the consultant] hadn’t got a hangover…. She was also girding her loins for a vigorous discussion with her husband for leaving her his mobile phone with very little call credit on it. Oh dear. >:XX

The silver lining of this aborted medical saga was, we were able to enjoy some of the best and warmest weather of the week. And we did. B)

0 thoughts on “DECENCY AND DIGNITY IN A HOSPITAL WARD-CANCELLATIONS AND SILVER LININGS

  1. oh, how frustrating for you, menhir, and expensive too but it seems not uncommon nowadays…and in the past…I once had a major op on my back put off for over a year when I was 20…nearly had a breakdown and decided in the end not to have it at all, and it seems it was for the best in the end…strange old life…GBHs…XXX

  2. What a great post. A philosophical way of dealing with a great deal of frustration and expense, not to mention, I imagine, a certain amount of natural anxiety. I wish you better, Menhir, and a less frustrating and entirely successful second visit when that time comes.

  3. I must say its very annoying and as the others say quite common in fact it is a pity its so common as so much time is wasted and you had a very tiring journey menhir still you handled it well considering ..

  4. Hi PP….there was nothing else to be done. I did not feel like wasting energy on being cross and stroppy – perhaps I’m getting older and wiser 😉

    I could certainly see some short term gain!

  5. The emotional and psychological gearing up are just two of the issues to deal with. As it was a gorgeous day outside and I had said to one of the nurses it was too good a day to be inside, (anywhere) it made it easier to to look forward the expedited departure from the institution.

  6. I think, GillyK, being able to run away from the anxiety and some knowledge of what might be, out in that particularly lovely sunny day, was not too difficult. The unexpected less stressed time was well spent. It does mean, as you point out, that all that medical stuff will have to be dealt with at a future date.

  7. Hi Lilian,

    Thanks for your comment. It does put other things out of sync now, but hey! Maybe they won’t wobble in such a major manner as that hospital rendezvous did.

  8. Hi,

    Yes, the book kept me occupied, not as gripping as some, but nevertheless, it gave me food for thought. I was in thought mode when the senior nurse arrived and interrupted my reverie with the news that I could depart.

    The day was lovely to be out in.

  9. Well ! Hospital is more and more the same in France…
    We progress about nineteenth century, faster than we left it…

    I think another thing…
    I have sold a garment. It is writen “HBT”.

    I don’t know how to wash it, because I don’t know what is the matter it is made ??? Cotton ? Woll ? Synthetic fabric ?
    Can you tell me ???

  10. Are you positive that HBT are not the initials of a hospital?

    As tu acheter cette chose ou as tu vendu la merchandise?

    Coton sera presque la meme mot en les langue ecrit en l’alfabet Romain, ca meme les mots synthetique/acrylique. Wolle, du Laine et Wool, en y as quelque differences de forme.

    Il y a aussie polyester, viscose et rayon.

    En Anglais ce trouve:

    HBT =
    Holistic Body Training;
    Hardware and Building Traders
    Heterojunction Bipolar Transistors
    Herringbone Twill (Twill is a type of cloth and herringbone is a pattern in the cloth)

    There are lots more interpretations of the acronym HBT

  11. Je sais que HBT a plusieurs significations différentes. Je crois qu’il s’agit de “Herringbone twill”. C’est un vêtement que j’ai acheté sur internet. (Je ne savais pas qu’il venait de Chine). Le texte est écrit en Anglais :

    “Description: HBT made, reed green color. Regular Cut like original ones.”

    I have no other information…
    ……
    I surf on web. I find :

    “Introduit en 1942 pour le casque M1, le couvre-casque camouflé se compose de deux pièces de tissu en coton HBT ( herringbones twill ) cousues entre elles. La partie inférieure comporte six rabats, qui une fois glissés entre le casque lourd et le casque léger maintiennent l’ensemble en position. Le tissu HBT employé est imprimé d’un camouflage réversible à dominante verte ( jungle ) sur une face et à dominante marron/beige ( plage ) sur l’autre face.”

    Another :

    La tenue de travail Herringbone Twill plus connue sous la dénomination “HBT fatigue dress”, tient sont nom du type de tissage de son tissus (en arrêtes de poisson).

    Elle fait son apparition sur le terrain en 1941, mais elle est dans les projets du QMC (Quartemaster Corps) depuis bien plus longtemps.

    “En réalité, c’est à partir de 1938 que le QMC décide de remplacer les tenues de travail en forte toile de jean (Blue Denim) grossière et désagréable à porter par des tenues en toile à tissage en chevron (Herringbone Twill) plus adaptée. Cette année là, la combinaison HBT (HBT coverall) fait sont apparition.”
    ….

    It would seem that HBT is a type of manufacturing of the fabric. I think it is Coton, because all comments I have found speak of Militar US tissue about World War 2. Thus : Cotton…

    Thus, the cotton shrinks in the wash…

  12. Hello,

    Herringbone design/pattern (it is a design that looks like chevrons) is NOT exclusively used in cotton cloth, though the finer herringbone weave is in common use for work clothing. Le fabrication et tres fort.

    The chevron weave/design can be used with many types of materials including wool and wool mixed with different fibres. It is made into fashion garments, like jackets, skirts, trousers and suits, especially heavier weight garments; it is good for cold weather.

    You may have encountered problems because;
    the material was not pre-shrunk. Donc, il y’en rien de faire.

    You may have washed the garment in water that was too hot.

    It is best to test the fabric before washing. A cold or 30 degree wash with a gentle liquid soap for the first wash, (not detergent) MIGHT be safe. I often wash heavy clothing at these temperatures if I have no information on the content of the cloth, or, there are no washing instructions, because we have no decent dry cleaning service here.

  13. I think I’ll wash on program “Laine délicate” and like you say, with gentle liquid soap for Wole…

    If the cloth shrinks, I would make some sewing to extend it and widen it.

    It is not easy to buy something which is not made in China !!!

    Merci beaucoup pour vos explications…

  14. Hope you get your op soon. In my experience it is very rare for a surgeon to be ill, they come in no matter what. You were very unlucky. I am glad you had the opportunity to get some sunshine. I was in work most of the day and didn’t get chance. Always a silver lining 😀

  15. Hi LLC,

    I would rather the man did not turn up unwell and pass bugs onto me, if he was unwell. It would be an irresponsible thing to do when there is so much concern about hospital acquired infections. It is hard not to take the explanation given for the inconvenience I experienced, other than at face value. The other woman, who was less sanguine than me, expressed her grumpiness in a variety of ways. She said, she only lived up the road. I saw that as her silver lining, she did not.

    The Op. would have to be postponed for sometime as this cancellation put other things out of sync that will now take precedence. You never know though, it might be that dealing with other issues will bring improvements in other areas. 🙂

    BTW I am not a regular ‘glad’ Ann of Green Gables character. I am clear about one thing, I could have done without the 400 miles round trip journey. The joys…..

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

