THE DELIVERIES FIASCOS COMETH – HELP!

Furniture and domestic appliance orders seem to take a lifetime to materialise. You wait, and wait, very patiently. You keep your fingers crossed for when the order does eventually appear that everything will be alright.

In the past I have had deliveries that have not matched the order I made; they’ve been turned round and I have had to wait and wait till the next scheduled delivery of replacement goods. Even then, they have not been satisfactory. It makes you want to tear your hair out.

I ordered a particular make of freezer some years ago from the only supplier I could find, who was based in England. They knew I lived in Scotland. The process of the delivery of the freezer was given to me in fine detail, down to the advice that the delivery people would unpack it, place the freezer in situ and balance it, then check everything was working. They, (the delivery people) were, I was told, always instructed to do this and take the packaging away; it was part of the service.

A Van arrived that was only just tall enough for the freezer to stand in. One elderly man, the driver, could not take the freezer out of the van on his own. There was not even a drop ramp at the rear to lower the goods. When the sales company was contacted, you could hear they were horrified. Their delivery contractors had sub-contracted the job to couriers who usually delivered packages and medium-sized parcels.

I phoned a farmer neighbour and he sent a burly farm labourer to help out. He knew a thing or two about how to do a delivery, and he instructed the van driver. Bless his heart, the farm labourer unpacked the freezer, got the van driver to assist him to put it in place, then the labourer balanced it.

It was no surprise to hear that the van driver knew nothing about removing the packaging, not only did he not know anything, he was not going to take it, anyway. “No problem”, said the saviour of the hour, “I’ll take it away for you, I’d be glad of the polystyrene to keep the foxes away from my own lambs on the croft”.

This week has felt like moving house to make way for replacement furniture. The delivery was completed by the company’s own people and, they did know what they were doing. Their care and skill was impressive. We were relieved………until adjusting door hinges to align the doors on a unit, one door fell off. Looking at the gouges where those hinges had been unceremoniously shoved in,

problem-4

and the sliver of packing wood to try to hide the damage,

problem-6

the failure was hardly surprising. (you can see the marks of the screw in the packing piece). Why oh why did it have to happen at our house! Now we wait for a resolution.

0 thoughts on “THE DELIVERIES FIASCOS COMETH – HELP!

  1. Oh dear, you have all my sympathy as we are going through loads of these at present, as you can imagine. I do hope it won’t take too long and be too frustrating until the company makes good. That is appalling workmanship.

  2. It was not a cheap item. And yes, it is appalling workmanship. We’re currently at stage one, having laid the complaint and sent the evidence. Company making good may be less smooth.

    You have actually moved house, rather than reorganised in it. Yours has been a more energy draining exercise, I am sure.

  3. Oh Menhir, I do feel for you on this I really do… I recently had a lot of hassle with customs, getting a very small parcel from the US. Finally someone at the local sorting office went above and beyond the call of duty to help me and be kind, I really appreciated it. May all this be sorted out quickly and properly for you asap.

  4. Thanks Tylluan, your thoughts are much appreciated. The update today is, the manufacturer offered repair or replacement. You can guess which option we have gone for. The seller assumed we would want a replacement. That’s a wait of 8-10 weeks, (about September :**:) barring anything unforeseen. Until I have the goods in situ in near to perfect order, I shall feel nervous about this. I have never yet had a domestic delivery without some issue arising.

    Why on earth jobsworths exist to make life difficult for people, wherever they live, beats me. It undermines the focus on real concerns. I hope all went well with your parcel.

  5. Hi Marika,

    How you doing?

    The latest is an acceptance we should have a replacement unit, meantime to use the one we have as best as possible, ‘not to worry about marking it or anything’. The wait is 8-10 weeks. That’s acceptable to us, given the circumstances. as the salesman said, he, ‘did not expect this sort of issue’ with the make of furniture we bought.

    I daren’t complete the re-siting of stuff I took out of the old furniture, into the new unit, knowing that I have to decant the whole darn lot and go through the process again, in the not too distant future.

    :**:

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

