THE WOW FACTOR – WHAT THE IMPRESSIONISTS SAW

On the hottest day in the Welsh calendar for 2013, I was visiting an outdoor museum, a castle and its farm. The sun was blazing. Trees with branches laden with leaves were not able to provide complete cover from the relentless stream of hot light rays. I was absolutely bowled over when I saw the effect of it on a lily pond

Duck-and-Lily-Pond

The impressionists, such as Monet and Manet, must have seen the same effect and what’s more wonderful, they successfully reproduced the effects of the bouncing reflected light in their art work.

This was definitely an occasion of “seeing is believing”.

4 thoughts on “THE WOW FACTOR – WHAT THE IMPRESSIONISTS SAW

    • Hi GillyK, It was a defining interlude. Next time I see impressionist art work, especially, of those artists mentioned, I will cast my mind back to my personal eye view. Much of their work was painted in France where summers would have been hot, as they are now.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

