I AM NOBODY’S NIGGER

I switched on my car radio on my journey through driving rain today and heard a rap, spoken with powerful words by its author, with a gentle stable rhythm, which added to its potency. It was one of a variety of poetry forms being broadcast today for National Poetry Day. It is the first time for longer than I can remember that words have had such a powerful affect on me, it made me think and remember.

The rap started with its title,”I Am Nobody’s Nigger” and went on to tell a story,old and not so old. I cannot reproduce the rap here in any form that could convey its power and do its story any justice. Instead, I ask that you listen to it yourselves on Radio 4 iplayer from a broadcast at 11.30am today. The rap poem has been written by Dean Atta.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b03brwqv

0 thoughts on “I AM NOBODY’S NIGGER

  1. Goodness….what an interesting discussion. I had to agree that the word cannot really ever be reclaimed because of it’s abusive history. I’m watching the wire at the moment and the word is used often by black people referring to black people. xxxx

  2. When a word is used within a society like its own argot, it can be confusing to interpret what is going on. The signals are different. It must be remembered, use of the words are not open to group outsiders, outsiders use them differently. It is likely to be a contentious use.

    Group outsiders have created a highly inflammatory use of many descriptive words of different groups/races of people, some words were coined to be abusive, none have a place in society, in my view.

  3. I do not agree, it is rap, it is rap made with a gentle rhythm coming from a measured delivery by the instrument of a voice.

    Rap does not have to include music. It is a form of poetry, like other forms of prose sung and spoken in a particular manner.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

