A POST SCRIPT ABOUT GOODWILL MAIL

At the risk of being boring, here is a post script to my last post on the cost of goodwill mail.

I had absolutely no idea that there were measurement gauges for all parcels, that is those parcels that do not look like packages; when did that happen? I was under the misguided impression, parcels were still charged by weight. I was surprised to see a shoe box size parcel placed into a box before a charge was imposed for it. You haven’t seen the half of it….said the post mistress, when I expressed my surprise. This is the second one we have had this year. The ‘new’ gauge is the same width and depth as the previous gauge but is 10cm SHORTER (A whole four inches in old measurements, shorter!!!) >:XX

There is likely to be a backlash with all these ruses for raising prices,I said.

It’s already happened. My small business customers now use couriers. They can get a straight £4 charge for each of their regular parcels. She continued… I don’t see them much now; I can’t ask them how good the courier services are.

0 thoughts on “A POST SCRIPT ABOUT GOODWILL MAIL

  1. Yes, I remember this sizing coming in. Who’s going to go to the bother of measuring every parcel and packet? If we don’t, we will get an unpleasant surprise.

    As to changing the gauges – no wonder the Royal Mail is in profit for the first time in many years. Big business ethic: cheat the public, if you can.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

