A GARDEN DAY

Unexpected good weather, warm day today. Got out my new gardening hand tools, did not want to waste time looking for rakes and spades, then got on with some gardening. I attacked the clumps of grass growing where they were not meant to be, pulled up all sorts of weeds while trying to avoid self-seeded seedlings; a bit of a fiddle. Discovered some new plants, my Primulas are increasing in number. I think the groups of pointed, purple tinged leaves might be the Alliums that did not show last year.

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

0 thoughts on “A GARDEN DAY

  1. A Busy Day by all accounts….Hopefully you will see more Allium this year….Seems last year was a poor year for them everywhere…..:roll: Let’s hope the better weather continues. πŸ˜‰

  2. Yes to all those considerations Gilly. I wobbled every time I stood up. Fortunately, the bucket was full of the weeds etc and had a bit of weight – not much – so I could use it to steady myself. Ice packs on back were great!!

  3. I was not aware that Alliums were not lively last year. Knowing it, makes me feel much better about them. πŸ™‚

    My new Euphorbia settled and has appeared this Spring with double the number of branches and is showing attractively burnished coloured flowers. I think my ‘natural’ patch with its Bluebells, Lupins,Primulas Crocosomia and ….perhaps Alliums, may be taking shape.

    I believe today is going to be the only settled one this week. 😦

  4. I love seeing the garden beginning to get more colourful as each day goes by enjoy your gardening menhir its worth all the hard work πŸ™‚ x

  5. Hi Lillian1,

    Nice to hear from you.

    It was too tempting, when I saw the sun, not to take personal advantage of the opportunity.

    I felt my muscles – such as they are- this morning. Garden colour comes quite late where I live. My primulas have been flowering much of the winter. The flowers are showing signs of wind burn, as are the pansies I recently planted in pots to try to introduce a bit more colour. I hope they revive.

  6. Hi Marika,

    Lovely to hear from you. I do pop in to see what’s going on here, to keep in touch with friends and as you see, occasionally post. My main blog platform being on Blogspot, www,myword1. blogspot.co.uk (can’t resist the plug) it can get a bit tricky juggling between platforms, which is why I just take the occasional ‘gee’ on BCUK.

    I can understand why you liken your blog to a garden. I will pop over and see you shortly. πŸ™‚

    xx

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

