70 MPH WINDS – FESTIVAL GOING IN EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND, IN AUGUST 2015

It’s tea time and it is late October, I am looking through the pitted glass; it’s pitted with the salt spray that has gusted around on stormy wet winds, winds gusting at about 70 miles per hour today.  Memories of a fine pleasant Edinburgh in August this year, seem unreal on this rip roaring weather day;  it feels like it was a really long time ago.  The Edinburgh Fringe Festival, The International Festival, (main stream theatre) and  the Edinburgh International Book Festival, all ‘colluded’ to start simultaneously this year. I thought it was fantastic. Virtually the whole of the city centre and many nearby suburbs buzzed with Festival. 

My shoulder and neck ached from carrying my camera,  so, there were some days as a festival-goer I gave ‘me’ a rest.  A couple of times I saw the most fascinating person, or, action, and I had nothing with which to physically record the moment. You never know what wonders there will be at Festival.  It sometimes works in your favour focussing your eyes 100% and chatting with people, like, when I climbed on a bus one afternoon and sitting facing me was the most stunningly made-up young man, who was on his way to perform in a cabaret act. Exquisite feathers of shiny and many coloured hues, for eyelashes, fluttered at me.  He had fine very pale pink lips and a white face.  All of this theatrical beauty was crowned with dressed fiery curly auburn hair. “You look wonderful“,  I found myself blurting out.  I know he was surprised, it showed. He was also pleased and he thanked me. I sat next to a woman in the seat in front of him and  there began a  friendly three-way conversation. The man rifled around in his capacious handbag, also part of the theatrical wardrobe, to find me a card for his fringe venue. Well, you can’t remember every little thing can you. No card I’m afraid, but, I did learn that the eyes transformation took about an hour and a more careful application (!!!) required about two and a half hours.

I wonder what this glorious ‘lady-in-waiting ‘ is loitering for.  Maracas perhaps?

P1030959-Royal-Mile---Fringe-Wb

 The Royal Mile, is about a mile to walk; the top end has the iconic Edinburgh Castle and at the lower end you arrive at Holyrood Palace, where the Queen stays when in Edinburgh.   The top end was closed off to through-traffic during Festival.  With the good weather most days, snapshot fringe performances took place.

P1030961-Devil's-Fiddle-2---Royal-Mile-WbP1030963-Still-Mime-Cyclist-Royal-Mile-Wb

There was all this activity  at the top end, near the castle.  Manipulating a puppet while playing a violin – what a brilliant act!

The cyclist in the picture above is a mime artist and is not moving.

Here below, onlookers filming and taking photos of the puppeteer and her fiddler

P1030962-Wrapt-internation-audience-Royal-Mile-Wb

 

A puppet act with a difference

 

 

P1030965-Stuffed-Road-Kill-Puppets-Royal-Mile-Wb

A quarter of the way down…. this group had a regular longer performance at an indoor venue. Here on The Mile they were providing a taster of their act.  They worked their audience well and a good crowd gathered.

 

P1030967-Brush-Show-Begins--Fringe-Wb

And more….  the boards, like the one in this picture to the left of the stage, gives the  schedules of free Fringe acts throughout the day at the various similar stage venues here.  This is just a wee snapshot of one day at The Festival when I was wandering around exploring what was happening on The Royal Mile. There was a lot more to find in many different places.

P1030970-Fringe-Act-Royal-Mile-Wb

8 thoughts on “70 MPH WINDS – FESTIVAL GOING IN EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND, IN AUGUST 2015

  1. Hi Bushka,

    You’re quick off the mark! I found the text and pix were not sitting in the post, like I placed them; I was still sorting them out and sorting the best way to operate with WP when you called in. I find it safer to use the old editor, whether the new one would work better withe inserting pix, I don’t know. It’s not yet fully developed.

    Glad you like ‘The Mile’ activity. There was just so much on. I will probably post some more Festival stuff to do it justice.

    xx

    • It was very sunny AnneMarie.

      I couldn’t agree with you more about WP’s picture handling- it is clunky. I have seen a few sites that handled media much better than WP – but then, given their arrangements, it wouldn’t be hard.

    • Mr F, the Edinburgh Festivals are a really worthwhile experience. Take the opportunity, if you have it. I have found that there’s something to suit nearly every interest.

  2. Marvelous memories for a windy day….struth, you did say 70mph? Ouch! I loved the pictures, especially the devil puppet/violinist. How unusual! Sometimes it’s rather liberating walking around without a camera, as you say, you engage with the eyes! Looking forward to seeing and hearing more!xxx

  3. Yes Snowbird, I did say 70mph…I was out in a gust or two, albeit briefly, I doubt I would have survived upright if my forays had been any longer. Talk about getting soaked – rapidly- and not being able to dry off lightweight trousers, even against a hot radiator. (My plastic over-trousers were tucked away in a cupboard…a lot of use that was!) If cloth fibres have a water table, mine were drowned.

    The Devil’s Fiddle was an amazing puppet act. Some complex violin classics were played with a super tone and beautifully. I was so busy marvelling at the action, I didn’t peer into the violin. I suppose, even if I had, I would not have seen anything as there was a fair bit of energy being expended.

    There are loads more pix which I shall filter through; your request will be my command. 🙂

    xxx

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

