WHERE ARE WE GOING?

Frustration is so damn tiring; I don’t recommend it. It all started when on a  really long journey I discovered my satnav had “no maps to display”.   Fortunately for us, there was daylight, which helped us see our way as we limped to our first off- the -beaten track destination with the help of a small silent screen of a phone.

-2

Soon, we saw it was impossible to do everything we planned without the satnav and its lost maps. There was nothing for it but to grudgingly buy another one, but, it had to be the  most suitable and cheapest. At least we were somewhere where we had choices, a bit of a silver lining, I suppose.

Back home again, I discovered that the company would have allowed a branch of the retailer from whom we bought the satnav, to take it back, given the circumstances, BUT, (there’s always a but) within fourteen days. This was lunchtime on day thirteen and I was not about to dash 240 miles round trip to take advantage of the offer.

-1

After a bit more conversation  with the company operative and ‘checking with my supervisor‘ the operative gave me a one-time offer of complete lifetime updates on this satnav model. Wasn’t that nice. He also helped me restore maps to my original  satnav.

Another BUT. To take advantage of lifetime updates, which I already had with the older device, I had to use a different email address. Two into one url just does not work.

I have spent so much time trying to sort out why logins did not work; why registration of the new machine did not succeed. Email instructions just did not cut the mustard. I phoned the customer line.

How was I supposed to know that you did not login via either of the addresses, in the way I always did, when I only had one satnav.

10 thoughts on “WHERE ARE WE GOING?

    • Nice to hear from you Shimon.

      To be truthful, living where I do, the solutions I accept from time-to-time, may not always be the outcomes I would choose, if I lived in or nearer a metropolis. Translating this into a broader theme, it means I have developed increased tolerances for different environments. It does not always satisfy. Sometimes the compromise is okay, at others I have to decide, given circumstances, it is the best I’ll get.

      I did not seek the gift I was offered with this situation, it was though, a welcome pacifier.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

