IT’S WHAT IS AT THE OTHER END OF THE LEAD

stock-photo-studio-shot-of-black-labrador-retreiver-lying-on-isolated-white-background-107475827

A vet once said, (not so long ago either) that the real problem was not the dogs he sees but what is at the other end of the lead.

A black Retriever bounded onto the bus with a woman seemingly in firm control. She sat at an available window seat usually taken up by a parent with a buggy. Three stops on, she did get up to make room for a mum with a buggy, and she slid into the  vacant seat directly opposite .

The Retriever was quickly and excitedly all over the man already seated in the window seat. The man did not try very hard to keep the dog away.  The woman gave up trying to calm the dog. It soon became evident they all knew one another very well.

I saw the black snout facing and close to the man’s face, the dog had its tongue out.  It seemed odd though, it was an extra long tongue.  This was one of those occasions when my eyes did not register what they saw and I was slow making the connection. Man and dog were tongue to tongue.

 

8 thoughts on “IT’S WHAT IS AT THE OTHER END OF THE LEAD

  1. Being in a chair I have had several exuberant encounters with dogs. I don’t mind a smiling face and wagging tail as ears are scratched but I do draw the line at the human lead holder pushing their pooch into my face. A gesture of good intent (awe poor lady in the wheelchair thing), but I do like my facial personal space slobber free.

    • Hi AnneMarie,

      I like my personal face space slobber- free too. I know what mine has been doing, but I where have canine tongues been! Yup, Mr Vet has it right I think. xxx

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

