GARDENING. OVER-ENTHUSIASTIC PLANTS

It’s been a busy two days in the garden taking advantage of the warmer temperatures and the dry sunny weather.

I rescued, (I hope) some of my plants from other over-enthusiastic plants encroaching on their space and depriving them of vital light.  I chopped back the Lovage for the second time this year.  I have decided it has got to go. What’s left of the Lovage is behind the  white planter. My flat leaf parsley should be a bit happier now and also the Aubretias.

You can’t see them, the Fennel is in the way,  but there are Violas, which were tied up with weeds. I moved  all but two of the self-seeded Calendulas (edible Marigolds) to another patch with their pals.

P1000274-Reduced-Lovage-Bronze-Fennel-Wb

It’s surprising what happily grows under the delicate fern leaves of the Bronze Fennel. It is not full height yet. It’s a bit warmer now, so, it will put on a spurt.

 

P1000276-Petunias-Calendulas-Wb

Calendulas are quite  hardy and they don’t seem to be fussy about what kind of ground they grow in. These have some re-sited Violas among them. I do throw a bit of compost in this direction every now and then. I’m not sure if the replanted fancy rocket behind the planter will settle.  The petunias in the pot  were planted yesterday.

P1000281-Rescued-Primula Wb

Allium are growing vigorously this year and have quite a few buds. There’s a couple of bunches by the Primula Candelabra, (the tall creamy flowering plants).  The Alliums are quite aggressive and have been pushing up and around the settled  Primulas.  Sadly, a  low lying double-flowered Primula was well and truly killed off by their growing antics. You can see what is left of one newly re-planted small Primula with a Viola for company, which did keep going, though it was obviously  struggling.  I pulled up some Alliums to give space and light back to the other plants.

P1000277-Alliums-Bund-Wb

A few of the miscreant Alliums have been plonked into this bund that hubby has developed. Their root network will be ideal for it assuming they take root. Even so, I reckon there will have to be regular culls.  Bluebell type flowers, (below) which are currently flowering would add to the root strength, they seem to behave in a similar way.

P1000283-Tidied-Euphorbia-Wb

I was a bit nervous of clearing out the weeds between the Euphorbia and the Lupins, I wore heavy duty gloves for this job. If any Euphorbia sap gets onto your skin, the skin will become light sensitive and can blister. This is one plant from which you don’t want to accidentally break anything.  It’s not ideal to have a top which keeps parting from your trousers, however well you think you’ve tucked everything in!

Those are Busy Lizzie’s peeking out from the amphora.

Gardening is never done; there’s still more to do. A bit of grass clearing should do the trick here.  There are some other Weigelas that would appreciate a similar manicure.

P1000278-Weigela-Wb

 

One for emptying. I’ve not had much success in this planter. I’ll have to think about how to use it.

P1000275-Grasses-Growing-Wb

 

6 thoughts on “GARDENING. OVER-ENTHUSIASTIC PLANTS

  1. Great post, M! Love to hear about those ‘over-enthusiastic plants’ making a bit of a nuisance of themselves…… 😉 AND…..had to smile about those miscreant Alliums…we have a few of them, too. Best way to deal with our little garden…..with a keen sense of humour…. Lovely! Garden Hugs – whatever they are meant to mean. 😉

  2. Hi Bushka,

    So long as the garden hugs aren’t interwoven with the cats cradle of Alliums (+ garlic aroma), I reckon they should be good!
    🙂

    This morning I looked on a leafy bunch of Alliums I re-sited yesterday from a dull spot. In view of their style of growth, they are on the cards to be unceremoniously moved where they might prove to be more appropriately homed.

  3. It’s nice to read about, and look at, the plants in you garden and what you’ve been doing.
    Fennel is an impressive plant which I sometimes grow on the plot. I’m glad to see that you grow pot marigolds, which as I’m sure you know are my favourite flowers. I have similar problems with my planters which have flowering bulbs in the spring then usually nothing else as I never then know what to have in them.
    Happy gardening. xx

    • Hi Mr F,

      Our current weather, I think, is the equivalent of the Spring down south, so, if you like, what’s in the pots will go on for the remainder of the milder weather period. Then there’ll be winter rest. All this is assuming we have no late frosts like last year, when at the beginning of July, 2015, we had frost and bolted Pak Choi to boot. xxx

  4. I did enjoy looking around your garden and seeing what you are growing.That fennel is a mighty fine specimen! Your candelabra’s are lovely. I do like your wall too, is it slate?
    I once got euphorbia sap in my eye….it stung for days!xxx

    • There are two large slates behind the Euphorbia, Snowbird, meant to create two sections for compost. Composting here does not work, it is not warm enough. The other wall situated near the Fennel is a dry stone dyke. When it was built, sprog was very young and we sometimes entertained friends of the same tender age who played in the garden. We therefore, asked the dyker to secure the top stones and any loose ones, for safety. He did that, being extremely careful not to leave the dyke looking “cementy”. Lichen has provided great cover too. Any other walls you see in the pictures are concrete block.

      The Fennel is a treat to see, and I am pleased with the Candelabra, which was originally a gift, as a single candelabra stalk in a pot. xxx

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

