HOW DOES THE GARDEN GROW…NOT WITH SILVER BELLS OR COCKLESHELLS.

It’s been a mixed week.  Flora and fauna have figured large.

As you will know from my last post, I was presented with a really bonny bouquet.

Literally, I have watched the garden plants  increase in size and strength within a few hours. One moment  they look immature and when I returned some hours later, well…..I rubbed my eyes, even I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.  When the weather gets warmer,  the plants obviously quickly rise to the occasion.  What were just leafy Calendulas, now have budding flowers at last

The wild Orchids in our garden are very pretty. They increase in number every year. Hubby does a slalom around all of  them with the lawnmower. Once they have finished flowering, he’ll mow the grass with carefree abandon again.

P1000297-Wild-Orchid-Wb

The Spiraea I successfully rooted also shot up a few centimetres and became quite bushy with tiny leaves.  I was intending to nurture it for another year, but it seemed a shame to restrict it in a pot.  So, it was planted, a fledgling bush amongst thrusting grass.  This is from where it originated.

The parent Spiraea bush

The parent Spiraea bush

It’s a pity one of the young  Weigelas, which was bursting with flowers, was accidentally caught by a strimmer, (not by me). Most of the flowers on the bush dropped off, the rest have since followed suit.  The broken branch, which I attempted to save, is not at all happy.  I’ll leave it in a pot a little longer to see if it might perk up.

Japanese Honeysuckle has delightful gentle mid- green leaves with cream lace veins .  After twenty-nine healthy years mine suffered an attack of what looked like mildew. It is no more.

A few snips with the ‘clippers’ and the flowerless stalks of the Primula Candelabra  have  been removed. They have not failed to put on ever-increasing candelabra displays.   I have a new kid on the block, new last year.  It was quite timid then, with just two flower heads. These Primulas are really cute and it has thrown up  five floral heads, so far, this year. You can just make out the head of the the fifth one, it makes its contrasting skirted frilly rim as the pointed hat develops.

P1000291-Thistle-Flower-+-Primula-Plants-Wb

You can see the vigorous Allium here just beginning to open their yellow flower buds.  Just behind them is a plant that appears to be a thistle.  I can vouch for the fact it is not a weed, I did plant it in 2015.  It’s not like any of the leathery prickly thistles, those leaves though they look spikey, are very soft .  It has yet to present its first flower.  An ornamental thistle style flower should appear in due course.  They are often found in floral displays.  When it is safe to, when I am not likely to tread on anything flowery, or, knock any plant heads off, I will have to check the name of it.  (Hopefully, the label will still be readable).

Summer gales nearly always arrive when  my Peony bush comes into bloom and  they quickly batter the blooms out of existence. There has been quite a strong wind building up today.  This season’s first blooms are really lovely, so I took a few pictures to record them.  There are others on the bush, in slightly varying shades of pink, similarly gorgeous.

P1000325-Peony-Rose-b-Wb

 

Finally, here is ‘the spotty flappy leafy thing’ mentioned a couple of posts back. It is commonly known as a pineapple plant; its official name is Eucomis and is a native to South Africa. I don’t know which particular Eucomis I have, there are a number of them.  For you buffs out there,  it is of the Asparagaceae genus. The ‘fruiting’ centre, (if that’s what it is) looks very interesting. There’s a second little Eucomis peeking out from behind the larger plant.

Eucomis

Eucomis

 

8 thoughts on “HOW DOES THE GARDEN GROW…NOT WITH SILVER BELLS OR COCKLESHELLS.

  1. Super post, M! My, you are keeping busy embracing the ‘Summer’….The plants seem to be doing their bit….I love that peony….Enjoy the rest of the Summer…hopefully Brother Sun will be around for a while. 🙂

    • Thanks Bushka.
      Embracing summer…what a lovely thought. I hope, like you there’ll be more of it in which to take pleasure from the short flowering season. Midges, slugs and snails all compete.

      🙂

  2. A most enjoyable post and lovely pictures. It’s good to see your garden doing so well with plenty of interest and colour. My mum would have loved that peony as they were one of her favourite flowers. As you say it’s such shame that they tend to suffer in the rain and wind.
    Happy gardening. xx

    • Hi Mr F,

      For all their weightiness, Peonies are really very fragile. There are sometimes good buds that stop developing when the weather aggravates them. It is lovely when they are able to put on a good show. xx

    • Hello Gilly,

      Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed the pictures. I used to bemoan the fact that I could not sit out and enjoy the fruits of my gardening labours. While sitting out is still not really an option, I have come to gain pleasure from the blooming life and what it develops into. I still am averse to masses of Alpines, I leave the growing of them to other neighbours. For all that, there are a few delicate ones that I like.

  3. Your peony certainly is a stunner! I wonder if your thistle is a sea holly, globe thistle or eryngium…..I can’t tell by the leaves, it will exciting to find out what it is, speaking of which, I am pleased to know what your spotty flappy leafy thing turned out to be, and it has a babe already? Marvelous!
    It is astonishing how plants shoot up this time of year, I swear I see them growing at times. That wild orchid is such a lovely colour, you have me pining for some.
    Sorry about your honeysuckle, I just lost a clematis to wilt….such a shame.xxx

  4. I think you got it Snowbird! The thistle-ish plant may well be Eryngium. I’ll have a firmer idea when I can safely put my hands on the I.D label. The wild Orchids are lovely, they are commonly seen on verges and they do procreate quite well. We are not overrun by them by any means, however, to our delight, they have multiplied over the years. You never know, you may accidentally place one in your new style bird/grass seed garden xxx.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

