OUR BED

counting-sheep

EeeeEk…urrgh….EeeEK; then the mattress rolls like it was pushing through a strong sea undercurrent.

At the time we purchased our bed frame, the salesman described it as having individualised left and right sides because of the the ‘unique’ separated wooden support slats design. Two single mattresses were not required.  It was explained that it would give a calm night’s rest, even if one partner was restless.  The bed  frame was delivered and constructed by the company.  We were given instructions about allowing the slats to settle under our new mattress.  All that was about four years ago. On the whole, the bed behaved much as advised.

1

For the last few weeks there has been a build up in throaty wood and screechy wood -on -wood noises, together with a chorus of crunchy cranky noises every time one of us moves, which wake me up from a half sleep when I am trying to get to sleep.  They are noises that also wake me up prematurely.  Hubs was not bothered at all.  Did I dare move? No I did not.  The final straw came when hubby turned in his sleep and I was rolled to the edge of the mattress, like I was in a boat being tossed on the sea.  It was time me and hubs had a chat about this.

What do you want me to do?” …..”We could check the frame” I ventured.

What about the mattress?“…..”We could slide it off the bed frame and put it on end“, I said

Some of the nuts on these bed fastenings are weird and wonderful sizes. With more encouragement and me demonstrating the slackness of the frame. Hubby went off to find his set of magic spanners; the fifth or sixth one he tried worked. 1

Four tightened corners later,  we tested out the placement of the wooden mattress support slats, both manually and by directly lying down on them……….  EeeeEk…urrgh….EeeEK.   Oh no! We looked at each other, a big dose of inspiration was needed.  The intervention of an emergency white candle, (for if there’s a power failure) was called for.

2

Rubbing some white candle wax on the wooden bed frame and the wooden slats seems to have satisfied the needs of the wood.  In addition, the bed frame was no longer slack, we had one happy bed and I had a more restful night’s sleep…Yay!

dreaming

10 thoughts on “OUR BED

    • Hi Gilly,

      Definitely, I agree with that sentiment, a good night”s is worth having, as you say, a boon. Movements now down to a minimum, what I would call normal tolerances and screeches have all but disappeared.

  1. Goodness, who knew candle wax could be so handy, I’d never have thought to use it. I find it handy bringing a real fire back to life though. Glad the awful eeking is a thing of the past.xxx

    • Hi Snowbird,

      Candle wax is very good for smoothing along the sliding of drawers – best using white though.

      The next aid to sleep and kindness to bed frame will be, I think, is to try and keep our own avoirdupois within acceptable tolerances!

      xxx

  2. Thanks for plodding on with the notifications investigation. It would be great to get a solution AnneMarie.

    I believe you are right about the chalk and squeaky floorboards, once they have been secured, I should think.
    x

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

