GREAT EXPECTATIONS

All the capable men waiting to be discharged from the day operation unit were asked if their wives or someone would help them to administer their post-operative medications.  Anyone with previous experience, however long ago, was given cursory advice, and was asked if wives would help.  One man who already had experience of his procedure, but some time ago, asked to have an update of what was needed.

A relative of a woman with dementia was given instructions to pass onto carers.

Not one compos mentis woman was asked if she had anyone at home to help her.  Obviously, the expectation of the relatively young female nurses was that women could just get on with it!

nurse-tux-icon

10 thoughts on “GREAT EXPECTATIONS

    • Absolutely Gilly; I was quietly fizzing! Of course, the men sucked right into it.

      Some years ago, while abroad, hubs had an accident. He was told in a Spanish hospital HE would have to inject himself into his stomach daily to reduce the risk of blood clots during his repatriation. His total refusal to do so, meant I was firmly told I would have to do it. I got 10 seconds observational training!

      But, what a gender neutral difference in the professional expectations.

  1. I’m not surprised. Because I live alone I stayed in hospital overnight when I had my gall bladder removed otherwise I would probably have come home the same day. xx

  2. Hi Mr F,
    I would not have been so irritated if the care concerns were even across the genders. There were women who were anxiously awaiting discharge from the unit, so they could get one of the very few daily buses now available, to travel the twenty miles or so, to their home town via all the hamlets and villages. No direct journeys since January this year. They had arrived at the hospital the same way, on their own with no-one to support them. One lady, had travelled in with a friend, who, because she started her work shift earlier than the woman was discharged, could not collect her. This partially sighted woman, a widow, in the circumstances, decided to order a taxi, to take to her home village.

    Of the men, one lived close to the hospital and was being met, the others were expecting wives or friends to drive them home.

    • Hello Karen,

      Thank you for visiting and also for your comment.

      I do hope that highlighting the gender- skewed, and in my view, the resultant questionable interactions I observed with patients, will provide a learning platform, raise awareness and effect appropriate change.

      Good luck to your daughter in her training.

    • I’m with you on that Snowbird. A third year student nurse was meant to be having a learning experience. I noticed that once she’d checked files and facts with patients, including me, she didn’t hang around for the denouement. I do hope she has not absorbed this cultural throwback behaviour elsewhere in the hospital.

  3. That’s certainly the lighter + darker side of of things AnneMarie, although, the only non compos mentis individual within the grouping I observed was a woman.
    x

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

