OPENING PANDORA’S BOX

505665924

Pandora’s Box

I meant to unplug my charged up  e-tablet and ended up instead, opening up Pandora’s Box.  Don’t ask me why, I can’t tell you.  I opened a file drawer.  It’s one I have used for nondescript and personal  ‘stuff ‘.  Mind you, I have been known to create a folder or two there, just because it wasn’t over-stuffed like the actual filing cabinet we both use.

can-of-worms-vector-id180621048For a couple of hours I was absorbed in reviving memories, (a lot of them not good ones) and slimming down the contents of folders. When I had finished with the first folder, my hand crept to the next one.   A can of worms had lain there too. This one was approximately a sixteen years old triple sandwich, with a mildew mild top filling,  fizzing chili in the middle, mercifully, followed by a layer of cooling cucumber.

It is hard curating sorting out your own ‘stuff’, your own interconnected paper trail of life.  I found I was not able to be totally objective.  Even after many years, emotions can and do ripple. I wonder if I had planned to do this job, I might have felt any different.

A shredded bucket of my life later, my pack of plastic pockets has swelled with a great many Woolworth’s ones that I freed up. (That’s a store long gone).  They seem to be a better quality plastic pocket than those they share the packet with.

woolies-new-logo-black-2-bg1-2

16 thoughts on “OPENING PANDORA’S BOX

    • You’ve done a fair bit of sorting and archiving too, Gill. I am at an earlier point. I am thinking about archiving, though what I did today was unplanned. I can’t call it spontaneous, because honestly, I am not sure that is what it was.

  1. Oww brave you! We can get sucked into these things, sometimes it is interesting when something rips off a plaster of old how it does or does not hurt. Did you find anything nice, like a £50 note? Lol.

    I wish I was less sentimentally attached to my ‘products awaiting purpose’ (that’s pc for junk), I think it’s because I need to feel connected to the greater world or maybe just don’t want to offend anyone by ditching something they spent tone and money on in thought of me.

    • No, no financial treasure trove to be found in amongst the papers, Anne-Marie. Perverse treasures, perhaps.

      Like you, I have sentimental difficulties about gifts. Letting go, when I have, has had to be worked through.

  2. Delightful…..Yes, I found your post most delightful! Not meant to be sadistic…;) So true….revisiting an be both ‘painful’ and ‘amusing’….

    • Hello Bushka,

      Spot on, ….”revisiting can be both painful and amusing”. Often the dollop of one overshadows the other. After all that sorting, I left the room forgetting about my e-tablet, the very thing I went to get in the first place!

  3. I’m laughing at you forgetting your lappie!!! Suddenly being confronted with a painful past can be painful….sounds like you did some deep cleaning though, mentally, emotionally and physically! xxx

    • That’s an interesting thought Snowbird, ‘deep cleaning the past’. It was certainly a sharp dose of reductionism in all respects. The thought of more to unearth sometime hence, doesn’t enamour me, but, hey, it has to be done.

      I couldn’t think how I had started that sorting process, then remembered my reason for going to the room in the first place,…some time later. That was one great big senior moment!! xxx

    • I guess you’re right. Whatever motivated me to face the life sorting path, probably was the only way it would have happened. I get the feeling I shouldn’t analyse it too much. xxx

  4. I’m pretty good when it comes to not keeping much stuff like that so don’t have to face sorting it all out periodically.
    I miss Woolies, it was a good store for gardening items among other things. xx

    • I made a resolution many, many years ago, Mr F, when I sorted out someone else’s worldly goods and chattels at their request. The resolution was, that I would not hoard and I would minimise my own ‘filing’, my goods and my chattels. It hasn’t stopped the keeping of ‘important stuff’ from building up. 😦

      I have elements of the lives of two people in two separate cardboard boxes. That level of minimisation I feel sad about, though it is neat.

      Yep, Woollies was good in very many ways that today’s ‘economic stores’ are not. Their Ladybird ranges were excellent.

      xx

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

