STUMPED IN THE LINQUISTIC JUNGLE

I don’t think I am dithery when it comes to computer technology; I am certainly not ‘machine-averse’.  I spent a good part of the last decade educating myself on computer software use and the technology.  Developments  move so fast, a bit like what is under the bonnet of a car, that I am beginning to think that I am lagging behind.

Keystrokes; I am not too bad at those.  They seem to be  much as such whichever platform you are working with. I can underscore, open boxes that give me what I want, and close things down when I have done!

I have bought a basic html book, with that I have mastered a few of the basics.  I can create emphases, emoticons, where a system allows it.  It is clear though,  I do not have a enough knowledge, especially when it comes to subscribing to feeds, creating delicious looking outlines to blogs and adding what I do to various public fora.  Cut and paste from my address bar does not appear to ‘cut the mustard’ to coin a phrase.

Much as I like communicating, I think I am stumped in this linguistic jungle.

3 thoughts on “STUMPED IN THE LINQUISTIC JUNGLE

  1. I suggest the next thing is to master links. Actually they are easy! Here for example is a link.

    Here it is again, but I have put [ instead of the required – just so that you can see the underlying html.

    [a href=”http://perpetual-lab.blogspot.com”]Here for example is a link.[/a]

    In order to create your own link, take the above, replace [ by .

    Then replace the address between the quotes by the address you want; not forgetting that it must start with http://

    Then replace ‘Here for example is a link’ by your own text.

    Then paste it in to your blog post or comment.

    Hope this works for you!

  2. Sadly, the above managed to omit the all-important symbols that mean so much to html. The left-hand pointy thing that sits above comma on keyboard and the right-hand pointy thing that sits above the full stop are to be used instead of [ and ] respectively in the above example.

    Hope this has not complicated things further.

    • Hello,

      Thanks for the lesson, I know what you mean by pointy brackets. I am trying out wordpress site to see how it works in comparison to blogspot. They are both very computer linquistically based. I think that the programming for replies on blogspot is more refined in that you don’t lose the html that you are trying to use to explain things. That said, I have tried subscribing to wikio for example, the first page finds my blog, accepts all, gives me lots of html in another box, then when it comes to subscription page, I am stumped.

      I will study what you stay.

      Thanks Vincent.

Thanks for visiting me. Please share your thoughts and ideas. Comment here.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.